Saturday, July 13, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Watch: Team India arrives in New Zealand for limited-overs series

Watch: Team India arrives in New Zealand for limited-overs series

India will play five ODIs and three T20Is against New Zealand from January 23 to February 10.

Written by: Ranit Das @ranitd94 New Delhi Updated on: January 21, 2019 12:33 IST
Team India
Image Source : GETTY

India will play five ODIs and three T20Is against New Zealand

Team India arrived in New Zealand on Sunday morning for the limited-overs series consisting of five one-days and three T20Is.

The team arrived in Auckland for the three-week long tour -- a first in the country for the Men in Blue since 2014.

The Indian players led by Kohli were seen arriving at the airport in video posted by Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) on their official Twitter account.

Kedar Jadhav and Dinesh Kathik were seen signing autographs for young kids while Mohammed Shami and Virat Kohli, who was accompanied by his wife Anushka Sharma, waved at the fans present at the Auckland airport.

The first ODI of the five-match series starts on January 23 at Napier with the rest of the matches being played on January 26 (Mount Maunganui), January 28 (Mount Maunganui), January 31 (Hamilton) and February 3 (Wellington).

The five-match series will be followed up by three T20Is on February 6 (Wellington), February 8 (Auckland) and the last match of the tour of January 10 in Hamilton.

India will be looking to carry the momentum from the Australia series against the Kiwis, who will be a much tougher opposition to beat -- especially in limited-overs cricket.

The home side dominated Sri Lanka in the recently concluded limited-overs series, winning all of the four games that were played (3 ODIs and 1 T20I). The home side defeated the Lankans sans Williamson in the sole T20I as he was rested for the game.

Currently ranked third in the ODI rankings, the Black Caps will provide the visitors a much sterner test compared to Australia, who failed to take advantage of situations against a mighty Indian side.

India on the other hand, will look to iron out the flaws with only 10 ODIs remaining ahead of the World Cup in England later this year. The No.4 position remains an area of concern for Kohli & Co. but Mahendra Singh Dhoni scoring fifties and finishing games will provide some respite to the team management. Kedar Jadhav marked his return to the team with a crucial 61 not out in Melbourne and chipped in with some overs as well to show his importance  to the team again.

Jasprit Bumrah's absence showed in the first game but Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were up to the challenge in the next two games and bowled tightly to help India clinch the three-match ODI series 2-1. Yuzvendra Chahal also picked up 6/42 in the final game to show his importance to the side. However, with small boundaries in New Zealand, it remains to be seen if India go in with more than one spinner in the line-up and who it is.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill

India T20 squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section