Sunday, April 14, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Venkaiah Naidu and Chiranjeevi conferred with Padma Vibhushan, 17 get Padma Bhushan, 110 Padma Shri

Venkaiah Naidu and Chiranjeevi conferred with Padma Vibhushan, 17 get Padma Bhushan, 110 Padma Shri

Padma Vibhushan has been awarded to 5 people, 17 have got Padma Bhushan and 110 have been honoured with Padma Shri. A total of 132 people have been honoured by the government through with Padma Awards.

Shashwat Bhandari Edited By: Shashwat Bhandari @ShashBhandari New Delhi Updated on: January 26, 2024 0:31 IST
Padma Vibhushan Awards 2024, Padma Bhushan Awards 2024
Image Source : PTI, FILE PHOTOS Former Vice President M Venkiah Naidu, Legendary actress Vyjanthimala (middle), and Telugu superstar K Chiranjeevi are among the recipients of the Padma Vibhushan award for 2024.

Padma Awards 2024: The government on the eve of Republic Day 2024 announced the winners of Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri awardees. According to the list, 17 people have been honoured with Padma Bhushan, five have honoured with Padma Vibhusan and 110 have been awarded Padma Shri.

Legendary actress Vyjanthimala, Former Vice President M Venkiah Naidu and Telugu superstar K Chiranjeevi were among the recipients of the Padma Vibhushan award for 2024.

Sulabh Foundation founder and Chairman Bindeshwar Pathak (posthumous) and artist Padma Subrahmanyam were the other two recipients.

Supreme Court's first woman judge M Fathima Beevi (posthumous), actor Mithun Chakraborty, Foxconn Chairman Young Liu, former Union Minister and BJP leader Ram Naik, singer Usha Uthup, and Tamil actor and DMDK founder Vijaykanth (posthumous) were among the 17 recipients of the Padma Bhushan.

A total of 110 people were conferred the Padma Shri.

The Bharat Ratna, the topmost civillian award, was already announced for socialist leader and former Bihar Chief Minister, the late Karpoori Thakur. Check the complete list of Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan awardees here. 

Padma Vibhushan Awardees 2024 

  1. Vyjayantimala Bali, Art, Tamil Nadu
  2. Konidela Chiranjeevi, Art, Andhra Pradesh
  3. M Venkaiah Naidu, Public Affairs, Andhra Pradesh
  4. Bindeshwar Pathak (Posthumous), Social Work, Bihar
  5. Padma Subrahmanyam, Art, Tamil Nadu

Padma Bhushan Awardees 2024

  1. M Fathima Beevi (Posthumous), Public Affairs, Kerala
  2. Hormusji N Cama, Literature & Education Journalism, Maharashtra
  3. Mithun Chakraborty, Art, West Bengal
  4. Sitaram Jindal, Trade & Industry, Karnataka
  5. Young Liu, Trade & Industry, Taiwan
  6. Ashwin Balachand Mehta, Medicine, Maharashtra
  7. Satyabrata Mookherjee (Posthumous), Public Affairs, West Bengal
  8. Ram Naik, Public Affairs, Maharashtra
  9. Tejas Madhusudan Patel, Medicine, Gujarat
  10. Olanchery Rajagopal, Public Affairs, Kerala
  11. Dattatray Ambadas Mayaloo alias Rajdutt, Art, Maharashtra
  12. Togdan Rinpoche (Posthumous) Others, Spiritualism, Ladakh
  13. Pyarelal Sharma, Art, Maharashtra
  14. Chandreshwar Prasad Thakur, Medicine, Bihar
  15. Usha Uthup, Art, West Bengal
  16. Vijaykanth (Posthumous), Art, Tamil Nadu
  17. Kundan Vyas Literature & Education, Journalism, Maharashtra

Padma Shri Awardees 2024

A total of 110 people have been honoured with Padma Shri award. Some of them are: Uday V. Deshpande (Sports), Dr. Manohar K. Dole (Medicine), Zahir I. Kazi (Literature, Education), Dr. Chandrashekhar M. Meshram (Medicine), Kalpana Morparia (Trade, Industry) and Shankar Baba Pundlikrao Papalkar (Social Work).

Four persons from Odisha including a 105-year-old Krishna Leela singer have been selected for the Padma Shri award for their contribution to the field of art.

The four are – Gopinath Swain, Bhagabat Padhan, Binod Maharana and Binod Kumar Pasayat.

Gopinath Swain (105), a Krishna Leela Singer from Ganjam district of Odisha, has dedicated his life to preserve and promote the tradition. Coming from a family of Krishna Leela performers, the centenarian has commenced his musical journey from the young age of five.

Bhagabat Padhan (85) is an exponent of the Sabda Nrutya folk dance from Bargarh district of western Odisha. He has taken the dance form beyond the temples.

Tennis star Rohan Bopanna, who is set to be crowned world number one in the doubles format, was selected for the Padma Shri along with six other athletes including veteran squash player Joshna Chinappa.

Padma Shri is fourth highest civilian honour after Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan which is conferred to achievers for their distinguished service in any field.

India's first woman elephant mahout Parbati Baruah famous as "Hasti Kanya", tribal environmentalist Chami Murmu, social worker Sangthankima who runs Mizoram's largest orphanage and plastic surgeon Prema Dhanraj who treats burn victims are also among Padma Shri awardees.


With inputs from agencies

ALSO READ | Padma Awards 2024 announced: Check complete list of winners


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India