Friday, March 01, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Chhattisgarh
  4. 'Eagerly waiting to know Kaun Banega Chhattisgarh CM': Bhupesh Baghel

'Eagerly waiting to know Kaun Banega Chhattisgarh CM': Bhupesh Baghel

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 54 seats in the 90-member Assembly in Chattisgarh while the Congress managed to win 35 seats and the remaining one seat was won by other parties.

Arushi Jaiswal Edited By: Arushi Jaiswal @JaiswalArushi Raipur Updated on: December 09, 2023 19:24 IST
Bhupesh Baghel, Chhattisgarh
Image Source : PTI Chhattisgarh caretaker CM and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel

Chhattisgarh new CM: Amid suspense over whom the BJP will pick for the chief minister's post in Chhattisgarh, caretaker Chief Minister and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel on Saturday said that he is eagerly waiting to know 'Kaun Banega CM' (who will be the Chief Minister). 

Taking a dig at BJP over the delay in CM pick in three crucial heartland states—Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh, he said that just like 'Kaun Banega Crorepati', similarly this question of 'Kaun Banega CM' is being raised in three states.

Watch what Bhupesh Baghel said on new Chhattisgarh CM

"We are eagerly waiting to know who will be the Chief Minister. Just like 'Kaun Banega Crorepati', similarly this question of 'Kaun Banega CM' is being raised in three states," said Baghel.

Notably, the BJP has appointed central observers for the appointment of chief ministers in the three states where the party won in the recently-concluded Assembly elections in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.

BJP observers for Chhattisgarh to visit state 

The three central observers including Arjun Munda, Sarbananda Sonowal and Dushyant Gautam appointed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will visit Chhattisgarh on December 10 to hold the legislative party meeting, as the saffron party is yet to announce the next chief minister of the state after it won Assembly election, sources have said.

For the government formation in Madhya Pradesh, the BJP is likely to hold its legislative party meeting on December 11 in the state, sources said.

Notably, the BJP got a landslide victory in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. Of the 90 assembly constituencies in Chhattisgarh, the BJP bagged 54 while the Congress won 35, claiming a significant vote share of 46.27 per cent to 42.23 per cent of the incumbent Congress. Singh Deo, lost their seats in the poll results declared on Sunday (December 3). He fell short by 94 votes to Rajesh Agarwal of the BJP. 

It should be mentioned that the BJP has had an excellent strike rate in the Hindi heartland states in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls under PM Modi's leadership and the dismal performance in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh leaves Congress without a powerful satrap to take on the BJP.

Also Read: BJP observers for Chhattisgarh likely to visit state on December 10 amid suspense over CM pick: Sources

Also Read: BJP appoints observers to pick new chief ministers in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Chhattisgarh