Sunday, May 19, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Bihar
  4. Lok Sabha Elections 2024: RJD fields Misa Bharti and Rohini Acharya, daughters of Lalu Yadav, from Bihar

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: RJD fields Misa Bharti and Rohini Acharya, daughters of Lalu Yadav, from Bihar

Bihar will vote in all the seven phases during the Lok Sabha elections beginning April 19. The state has a total of 40 parliamentary seats.

Edited By: Arushi Jaiswal @JaiswalArushi Patna Updated on: April 10, 2024 6:11 IST
Lok Sabha elections, Rohini Acharya, Misa Bharti
Image Source : FILE PHOTO Lalu Yadav's daughters Rohini Acharya (Left) and Misa Bharti.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on Tuesday released a new list of 22 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The party has former Bihar CM Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Rohini Acharya from Saran and Misa Bharti from Pataliputra constitunecies. 

Rohini has been pitted against BJP leader and former Union Minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

The RJD, which is in alliance with the I.N.D.I.A. bloc, has given tickets to Bima Bharti from Purnia, Vijay Kumar Shukla alias Munna Shukla from Vaishali and Shahnawaz Alam from Araria. Ritu Jaiswal has got the ticket from Shivhar.

Check list here: 

About Rohini Acharya

Rohini, who is known for her active presence on social media and her vocal criticism of her parents' political adversaries, will be making her poll debut in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from the Saran Lok Sabha constituency. During the opposition's Jan Vishwas Rally held at Patna's Gandhi Maidan earlier this month, Rohini was spotted on the dais alongside her father, who subsequently introduced her to the gathered crowd.

It is pertinent to mention that Rohini was the one who generously donated one of her kidneys to her father when he underwent kidney transplantation surgery in a Singapore-based hospital back in December 2022. She garnered widespread admiration after selflessly donating one of her kidneys to her ailing father, whose kidney was functioning at only 25 per cent capacity at the time. Her act provided her father with a renewed lease on life, touching the hearts of many.

Misa Bharati

Lalu's daughter Misa Bharti is not new to politics, having previously served as a Rajya Sabha MP representing the RJD. Misa has contested elections from Patliputra twice in the past, but she faced defeat on both occasions. 

Ram Kripal Yadav has been representing the Pataliputra constituency since 2014. Yadav defeated RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Misha (Misa) Bharti in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls. The Pataliputra constituency was a part of the Patna constituency till 2008. Yadav won the Patna seat in 1993, 1996 and 2004.   

Saran Lok Sabha seat 

Saran constituency, the birthplace of Jay Prakash Narayan, holds significant political importance in Bihar. It has been considered one of the highest-profile parliamentary seats in the state. Lalu Yadav has been elected as the MP from this constituency four times, commencing his parliamentary journey here in 1977. His wife, Rabri Devi, has also contested elections from this seat.

In the 2009 elections, Lalu Yadav emerged victorious from Saran. However, following his conviction in the fodder scam, he was disqualified from contesting elections. Consequently, Rabri Devi contested from this seat in 2014. Despite this, all RJD's efforts were in vain against the Modi wave, and Rajiv Pratap Rudy secured victory, returning to parliament.

In the 2019 elections, BJP's Rajiv Pratap Rudy secured victory once again with 4,99,342 votes, while RJD's Chandrika Rai received 3,60,913 votes. Similarly, in 2014, Rajiv Pratap Rudy defeated RJD's Rabri Devi with 3,55,120 votes to 3,14,172 votes.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 in Bihar

The upcoming Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases in Bihar, starting from April 19. The counting of votes will take place on June 2. 

  • First phase - April 19: (Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada, Jamui) 
  • Second phase - April 26: (Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka)
  • Third phase - May 7: (Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, Khagaria)
  • Fourth phase - May 13: (Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, Munger)
  • Fifth phase – May 20: (Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur)
  • Sixth phase - May 25: (Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Siwan, Maharajganj)
  • Seventh phase – 1 June: (Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat, Jahanabad)

Also Read: Nitish Kumar touches PM Modi’s feet at rally after 'Char hazaar se bhi zyada' seats for NDA goof up | WATCH

Also Read: 'Pappu Yadav is not I.N.D.I.A bloc candidate from Purnia,' says Congress Bihar unit president Akhilesh Singh


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Bihar