Wednesday, April 17, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Tennis
  5. Roger Federer Retirement: 20 Grand Slams, 8 Wimbledon titles and one Great Roger Federer!!!

Roger Federer Retirement: 20 Grand Slams, 8 Wimbledon titles and one Great Roger Federer!!!

Roger Federer announced his retirement from the game as he ended his 24-year playing career. He won Wimbledon, Australian Open, US open and French open in his career.

Aditya Pimpale Written By: Aditya Pimpale New Delhi Updated on: September 15, 2022 20:49 IST
Roger Federer Retirement
Image Source : GETTY Roger Federer


  • Federer has won 20 Grand Salm titles in his 24-year career
  • Federer won the Wimbledon on 8 occasions
  • With 20 Grand Slams, only Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won more titles than Federer

It was an end of an era in the World of tennis on Thursday as Roger Federer called time on his illustrious career after playing at the highest level for 24 long years. Considered by many the greatest tennis player of all time, the Swiss star won all the major accolades in his tennis career. An owner of 20 Grand Slam titles, Federer graced the game for more than two decades before tweeting about his retirement. After the Laver Cup, he will officially hang his racket and will say goodbye to the beautiful game one final time.

Federer in Numbers

After staying away from the game for more than a year, it was expected that he will appear at this year’s Wimbledon but stayed away due to fitness issues. At the time of retirement, Federer would look back at some of his big achievements as he won eight Wimbledon titles, six Australian Open titles, five US Open titles, and a solitary French Open title in 2009.

Australian Open

2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017, 2018

French Open



2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017

US Open

2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008

Where does he rank in all-time list?

Renowned for his excellent backhand and forehand, the Swiss came to rise for the first time in 2001 when he beat Pete Sampras at Wimbledon. Two years later he won his first title at the SW-19 and would later win five titles in a row in London. In time to come, he would go past the likes of Pete Sampras and Roy Emerson.

Currently, only Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won more Grand Slam titles than him in Men’s tennis. Nadal leads the chart with 22 Grand Slam titles while Djokovic is one behind on 21. At the start of 2022, the trio of Nadal, Djokovic, and Federer had won 20 Grand Slam titles each. His last Grand Slam triumph was 2018 Australian Open while his last Wimbledon title came in 2017.

ALSO READ I Roger Federer announces retirement; Laver cup to be his final tournament

Most Singles Grand Slam titles for Men’s-


No. of Titles

Rafael Nadal


Novak Djokovic


Roger Federer


Pete Sampras


Roy Emerson


Alongside Grand Slam titles he also won a Gold Medal in the 2008 Beijing Olympics in Men’s doubles with Stanislas Wawrinka. Federer lost in the final of the Men’s singles in the 2012 London Olympics after Andy Murray got the better of him. On six occasions he won the year-ending ATP tour finals while winning the Davis cup in 2014.


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Tennis Section