Tuesday, April 16, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. IAF Day special: Jet fighters and bombers of Indian Air Force

IAF Day special: Jet fighters and bombers of Indian Air Force

New Delhi: The Indian Air Force was the first to induct jet fighters in Asia way back in 1948. Since then jet fighters has been at the forefront of our Air Force. These included legends

PTI PTI Updated on: October 08, 2013 14:59 IST
6. Tejas

The HAL Tejas is a lightweight multirole fighter developed by India. It is a tailless,[N 1] compound delta-wing design powered by a single engine. 

It came from the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme, which began in the 1980s to replace India's ageing MiG-21 fighters. Later, the LCA was officially named "Tejas", meaning "Radiance" by then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The Tejas has a pure delta wing configuration, with no tailplanes or foreplanes, and a single dorsal fin.

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is reported to have a requirement for 200 single-seat and 20 two-seat conversion trainers, while the Indian Navy may order up to 40 single-seaters to replace its Sea Harrier FRS.51 and Harrier T.60.  

The Tejas was cleared in January 2011 for use by Indian Air Force pilots. It is to reach final operational clearance in 2013.

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from India