Sunday, May 19, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Education
  4. Schools to remain closed today in THESE states due to Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Schools to remain closed today in THESE states due to Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Schools in several districts across country will remain closed today, April 19 due to general elections. Students and parents are advised to keep in touch with the school authorities for more latest updates.

Edited By: Nidhi Mittal @nidhi_mittal09 New Delhi Updated on: April 19, 2024 10:46 IST
School closed today in various states
Image Source : FILE School closed today in various states

Today, signifies the commencement of Lok Sabha elections, with the first phase spanning 102 constituencies. Campaigning halted yesterday, with parties awaiting the electorate's verdict. In light of security concerns, schools in districts across 21 states, including Uttar Pradesh, have been instructed to remain closed. Let us know how many districts in which states including UP, schools will remain closed.

According to the Election Commission, elections are scheduled for both Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh on 19th April. Consequently, all regional schools will remain closed, as they are designated polling booths. Similarly, in the first phase, out of Assam's total 14 Lok Sabha seats, 5 seats, along with 4 seats in Bihar, 1 seat in Chhattisgarh, 6 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 5 seats in Maharashtra, both seats in Manipur and Meghalaya, and 2 each in Mizoram, Sikkim, and Nagaland (1 seat each) will undergo voting. Additionally, 12 seats in Rajasthan, 39 seats in Tamil Nadu, and 1 seat in Tripura will be contested. Consequently, both government and private schools in these areas will remain closed today.

Schools will remain closed in the following constituencies:

  1. Arunachal Pradesh: Arunachal West, Arunachal East
  2. Assam: Kaziranga, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Jorhat
  3. Bihar: Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada, Jamui
  4. Chhattisgarh: Bastar
  5. Madhya Pradesh: Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla, Balaghat, Chhindwara
  6. Maharashtra: Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondia, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur
  7. Manipur: Inner Manipur, Outer Manipur
  8. Meghalaya: Shillong, Tura
  9. Mizoram: Mizoram Lok Sabha seat
  10. Nagaland: Nagaland Lok Sabha Seat
  11. Rajasthan: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, Nagaur
  12. Sikkim Lok Sabha seat
  13. Tamil Nadu: Voting for all 39 Lok Sabha seats will be held in a single phase.
  14. Uttarakhand: Voting will be held on all 5 seats.
  15. Tripura: Tripura West
  16. West Bengal: Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri

Schools will remain closed in 8 constituencies of UP

In Uttar Pradesh, schools will remain closed in 8 constituencies: Saharanpur (General), Kairana (General), Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor (General), Nagina, Moradabad (General), Rampur (General), and Pilibhit due to elections. Additionally, elections will be held for 1 seat each in Andaman and Nicobar, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, and Puducherry, where schools will also remain closed.


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Education