Saturday, May 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Rajya Sabha elections: Polls on 57 seats across 11 states on June 10, says Election Commission

Rajya Sabha elections: Polls on 57 seats across 11 states on June 10, says Election Commission

The maximum number of seats fall in Uttar Pradesh i.e 11, and followed by Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu with 6 seats each.

Written by: Shashwat Bhandari @ShashBhandari New Delhi Updated on: May 23, 2022 12:09 IST
Representational image.
Image Source : FILE PHOTO

Representational image.


  • Rajya Sabha elections on 57 seats will be held on June 10
  • Elections will be spread across 11 states
  • Uttar Pradesh is having maximum seats i.e 11 followed by 6 each in Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu

Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats spread across 15 states will take place on June 10, the election commission informed on Thursday.

The biennial elections to these seats are taking place as members are retiring between June and August.

Seats vacated by BJP's Nirmala Sitharaman and Congress' P Chidambaram in Karnataka and Maharashtra will also go for polls.

The election commission said that the notification will be issued on May 27, last date for nomination is May 31, scrutiny will be held on June 1, polling is on June 10 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and the counting of votes will begin at 5 p.m. on the same day.

The term of office of 57 Rajya Sabha members elected from 15 states is due to expire from June to August.

These comprise 11 from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, five from Bihar, four each from Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Rajasthan, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, two each from Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Jharkhand, and Haryana, and one from Uttarakhand.

The Commission also said that Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by it to be followed, wherever applicable, during the entire election process by all persons.

The Chief Secretaries of all 15 states have been directed to depute a senior officer to ensure that the extant instructions regarding Covid-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election, the poll panel added.

ALSO READPM tries hard to stop his tears during interaction with aspiring doctor at Utkarsh Samaroh | VIDEO

ALSO READAAP MLA Amanatullah Khan detained for blocking MCD's anti-encroachment drive in Delhi's Madanpur Khadar


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India