• Sensex slumps over 1,000 points in early trade; Nifty falls below 17,000
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. All-party meet convened by govt; opposition demands discussion on Pegasus row, price rise

All-party meet convened by govt; opposition demands discussion on Pegasus row, price rise

The BJP-led government has a heavy agenda for the winter session beginning November 29 with its legislative business including 26 new bills.

India TV News Desk Edited by: India TV News Desk
New Delhi Updated on: November 28, 2021 16:41 IST
parliament winter session
Image Source : TWITTER/@ANI

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh with Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi in Parliament


  • The winter session will commence on November 29
  • The government has indicated that the bill to repeal three farm laws will be taken up on priority
  • Govt agenda also includes the Cryptocurrency and Regulation of Official Digital Currency Bill

An all-party meeting convened by the government ahead of the Winter Session of Parliament started on Sunday with most opposition parties demanding a discussion on the Pegasus snooping row, price rise and unemployment. Sources aware of the deliberations at the meet said opposition leaders also raised the issue of extended jurisdiction of the Border Security Force in some states, including West Bengal.

Trinamool Congress leaders Sudip Bandopadhyay and Derek O'Brien are learnt to have raised the issue of bringing laws on minimum support price and disinvestment of profitable PSUs.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), however, walked out of the meeting, claiming it was not allowed to speak.

AAP leader Sanjay Singh said he walked out as he was not allowed to raise issues related to farmers, especially on a law on MSP.

The prominent opposition leaders present at the customary session-eve meet included Mallikarjun Kharge, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Anand Sharma from the Congress, TR Baalu and Tiruchi Siva from the DMK, Sharad Pawar from the NCP, Vinayak Raut from the Shiv Sena, Ramgopal Yadav from the Samajwadi Party, Satish Mishra from the BSP, Prasanna Acharya from the BJD and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah.

The Winter Session of Parliament will begin on Monday and conclude on December 23. 

(With inputs from PTI)

Also Read | Price rise, China, farm laws: Congress chalks out strategy to gherao Centre for Winter Session

Latest India News

Write a comment