Thursday, February 29, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. 'Dil jeet liya': Jayant Singh hails Modi govt's decision to confer Bharat Ratna to Charan Singh

'Dil jeet liya': Jayant Singh hails Modi govt's decision to confer Bharat Ratna to Charan Singh

The post came minutes after Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the conferment of the Bharat Ratna award to former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh.

Hritika Mitra Edited By: Hritika Mitra @MitraHritika New Delhi Updated on: February 09, 2024 13:53 IST
RLD chief Jayant Chaudhary
Image Source : FILE Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Jayant Chaudhary

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Jayant Chaudhary on Friday hailed the Narendra Modi government's decision to confer the highest civilian award Bharat Ratna posthumously to his grandfather and former Prime Minsiter of India, Chaudhary Charan Singh. The government also decided to confer the award to MS Swaminathan and PV Narasimha Rao.  

Sharing Prime Minister Narendra Modi's post, Jayant Chaudhary wrote on social media platform X, "Dil jeet liya."

The post came minutes after PM Modi announced the conferment of the award to Chaudhary Charan Singh. On X PM Modi wrote, "It is the good fortune of our government that former Prime Minister of the country Chaudhary Charan Singh is being honoured with Bharat Ratna. This honour is dedicated to his incomparable contribution to the country. He had dedicated his entire life to the rights and welfare of farmers. Be it the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh or the Home Minister of the country and even as an MLA, he always gave impetus to nation-building. He also stood firm against the Emergency. His dedication to our farmer brothers and sisters and his commitment to democracy during the Emergency is inspiring to the entire nation."

The announcement also came amid several reports claiming that the seat-sharing between the BJP and the RLD has almost been finalised for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections in Uttar Pradesh. 

Sources say that the RLD will contest two seats in Uttar Pradesh which are Baghpat and Bijnor. Besides this, it will also get one Rajya Sabha seat and one MLC berth in the UP Legislative Council.


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India