Sunday, July 21, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Bihar
  4. 'NDA-JD(U) alliance will collapse after six months of Lok Sabha elections,' claims Prashant Kishor

'NDA-JD(U) alliance will collapse after six months of Lok Sabha elections,' claims Prashant Kishor

Nitish Kumar, who has maintained a tense atmosphere in Bihar politics with his prolonged silence over the past few days, submitted his resignation to the Governor today.

Edited By: Arushi Jaiswal @JaiswalArushi Patna Published on: January 28, 2024 14:42 IST
Bihar politics, Prashant Kishor
Image Source : INDIA TV Political strategist Prashant Kishor

Bihar politics: Hours after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar tendered his resignation to Governor Rajendra Arlekar to form a new alliance with the Bhartiya Janata Party, political strategist Prashant Kishor claimed that the new NDA alliance will not last beyond six months after the Lok Sabha elections. 

He asserted that Nitish Kumar will flip again before the next assembly elections.

Watch what Prashant Kishor predicted

Nitish Kumar joins hands with NDA

JD(U) president Nitish Kumar on Sunday resigned as the Chief Minister of Bihar, saying "things were not working well" for him in the Mahagathbandhan and the opposition bloc INDIA, and staked claim to form a new government with the BJP, which he had dumped less than 18 months ago.

The RJD, despite having the largest number of 79 MLAs in Bihar assembly, including Awadh Bihari Chaudhary, who is the Speaker, seems unwilling to stake claim.

Kumar had joined the Mahagathbandhan in August 2022, when he had snapped ties with the BJP accusing it of trying to "split" his JD(U). He formed a new government with a multi-party coalition that included RJD, Congress and three Left parties.

In the current 243-member Bihar Assembly, JD(U) has 45 MLAs and the BJP 78. Kumar also has the support of one Independent member. Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Hindustani Awam Morcha, which is already a part of the NDA, has four MLAs. The RJD (79) along with the Congress (19) and the Left parties (16) have a combined 114 MLAs, eight short of a majority.

Also Read: Nitish Kumar returns to NDA: How numbers stack up in Bihar Assembly now?

Also Read: Will leave I.N.D.I.A bloc to form new alliance: Nitish Kumar after resigning as Bihar CM


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Bihar