Wednesday, May 29, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Vaibhav Gehlot to Phool Singh Baraiya, check state-wise list of Congress candidates

Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Vaibhav Gehlot to Phool Singh Baraiya, check state-wise list of Congress candidates

The announcement of these candidates marked a significant step forward in the Congress party's election strategy, as it prepares to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls with a carefully curated list of candidates across various states.

Edited By: Nitin Kumar @Niitz1 New Delhi Updated on: March 12, 2024 23:47 IST
Vaibhav Gehlot
Image Source : PTI/FILE PHOTO Vaibhav Gehlot is the son of former Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.

The Congress party has revealed its state-wise list of candidates for the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections. With a focus on strategic placements and potential strongholds, the party aims to field candidates who can effectively represent their constituencies and contribute to its electoral prospects.

Key candidates and seat changes

  • Pradeep Tamta: Almora
  • Vaibhav Gehlot: Jalore
  • Rahul Kaswan: Churu

India Tv - Congress

Image Source : INDIA TVState-wise list of Congress candidates

Gaurav Gogoi and Vaibhav Gehlot: Notably, both Gaurav Gogoi and Vaibhav Gehlot have opted for seat changes in this election cycle, indicating a strategic realignment of resources and priorities within the party.

Key Candidates Named

Former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot's son, Vaibhav Gehlot, emerged as a notable contender, set to contest from the Jalore Lok Sabha seat. Meanwhile, sitting MP Rahul Kaswan, who recently switched allegiance from the BJP to Congress, secured a nomination from Churu.

Strategic placement

The list strategically includes three sitting MLAs: Lalit Yadav from Alwar, Harish Meena from Tonk, and Brijendra Ola from Jhunjhunu. Additionally, new faces like Karan Singh Uchiyarda and Sanjana Jatav also received nominations.

Renowned political figures

Harish Meena, a former representative of the Dausa Lok Sabha seat, returns to the electoral fray from Tonk. Udailal Anjana, a former minister and Chittorgarh's previous MP, aims to reclaim his seat. Similarly, Govind Meghwal, a former state minister, is contesting from Bikaner.

Fresh entrants

Former IAS officer Tarachand Meena makes his electoral debut, securing a ticket for the Udaipur Lok Sabha constituency.

First wave of candidates

The announcement marks the first batch of contenders unveiled by the Congress for Rajasthan's 25 Lok Sabha seats, setting the stage for a competitive electoral battle.

Previous BJP announcement

Earlier this month, the BJP had revealed the names of 15 candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, signaling the onset of election fervor in the state.


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India