Wednesday, June 12, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Banks to be closed in THESE cities today | Check list

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: Banks to be closed in THESE cities today | Check list

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: In the fifth phase of elections on May 20, voters in 49 constituencies across Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh will cast their ballots.

Edited By: Arushi Jaiswal @JaiswalArushi New Delhi Updated on: May 20, 2024 7:12 IST
Lok Sabha Elections, bank closed
Image Source : FREEPIK.COM Representative image

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The voting for the fifth phase of the 18th Lok Sabha elections is being held today (May 20). Due to the elections, banks will remain closed in many cities across the country. Therefore, complete your important banking tasks online instead of visiting the bank branch. The physical branches will remain closed but the online banking services are typically accessible around the clock. You can handle account management, fund transfers, and bill payments electronically. Today, voting is being held in 49 constituencies across eight states and one union territory.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) list of bank holidays, banks will be closed today in Mumbai, Lucknow, and Belapur. Apart from this, banks will also remain closed in those states which have declared a public holiday due to elections.

There are three types of bank holidays in the country: Holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act, holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act Real Time Gross Settlement Holidays, and Banks’ Closing of Accounts. Notably, Regional bank holidays can vary from state to state and bank to bank in the country. 

Elections are being held in these cities today

  • Bihar: Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur
  • Jharkhand: Chatra, Koderma, Hazaribagh
  • Maharashtra: Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central, Mumbai South
  • Odisha: Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska
  • Uttar Pradesh: Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Kaiserganj, Gonda
  • West Bengal: Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambagh
  • Jammu and Kashmir: Baramulla
  • Ladakh: Ladakh

Maharashtra government circular

The Maharashtra government has issued a circular mandating paid leave for voters to cast their votes during the 2024 general elections. According to the circular, workers, officers, employees, and eligible individuals will be granted paid leave on the day of elections to ensure they can exercise their voting rights.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5: List of 49 constituencies, states, parties and candidates

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: From Rajnath to Rahul Gandhi to Omar Abdullah, list of key candidates in Phase 5


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India