Saturday, May 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Congress releases new list, fields Manish Tewari from Chandigarh, Vikramaditya Singh in Mandi | Check list

Congress releases new list, fields Manish Tewari from Chandigarh, Vikramaditya Singh in Mandi | Check list

The party has fielded Vikramaditya Singh from Mandir against BJP's Kangana Ranaut, and Manish Tewari from Chandigarh.

Edited By: Ashesh Mallick @asheshmallick07 New Delhi Updated on: April 14, 2024 6:14 IST
Congress, Congress list of candidates, Manish Tewari, Vikramaditya Singh
Image Source : PTI Congress candidates in new list

The Congress on Saturday (April 13) released another list of 16 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in which the party has fielded Vikramaditya Singh from Mandi against BJP candidate Kangana Ranaut and Manish Tewari from Chandigarh.

Vikramaditya Singh is the son of the Congress' Himachal Pradesh unit chief Pratibha Singh.

The candidates were announced during a meeting of the party's Central Election Committee here on Saturday evening.

Earlier on Saturday, Vikramaditya's mother and Himachal Congress chief Pratibha Singh announced that Vikramaditya Singh is fighting poll from Mandi seat. 

Vikramaditya Singh, a two-time MLA from Shimla Rural constituency, is the son of former chief minister Virbhadra Singh and state Congress chief Pratibha Singh, who is also the sitting MP from the Mandi seat. He is also the former state youth Congress president.

Manish Tewari is the sitting MP from Punjab's Anandpur Sahib and has been fielded from Chandigarh against BJP's Sanjay Tandon who replaced sitting BJP MP Kirron Kher.

Other candidates

The party fielded Vinod Sultanpuri, the son of veteran Congress leader K D Sultanpuri, from the Shimla-SC constituency. It also announced four candidates from Gujarat and nine from Odisha.

The Gujarat candidates include Ramji Thakore (Palvi) from the Mehesana, Himmatsinh Patel from Ahmedabad East, Pareshbhai Dhanani from Rajkot and Naishadh Desai from the Navasari seat.

In Odisha, the party fielded Mohan Hembram from the Keonjhar-ST seat, Srikant Kumar Jena from Balasore, Anant Prasad Sethi from Bhadrak-SC seat, Anchal Das from Jajpur-SC constituency, Sashmita Behera from Dhenkalan, Sidharth Swaroop Das from Kendrapara, Rabindra Kumar Sethy from Jagatsinghpur-SC, Sucharita Mohunty from Puri and Yasir Nawaz from Bhubaneshwar.

The Congress also announced five candidates for the bye-elections to five assembly segments in Gujarat.

(With PTI inputs)


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India