Thursday, April 18, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Madhya Pradesh
  4. Union Minister L Murugan among 5 candidates declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh

Union Minister L Murugan among 5 candidates declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh

BJP has nominated L Murugan, Union minister of state for information and broadcasting, as its Rajya Sabha nominee from Madhya Pradesh.

Reported By : Anurag Amitabh Edited By : Arushi Jaiswal
Published on: February 20, 2024 18:05 IST
L Murugan
Image Source : X/@MURUGAN_MOS Union Minister L Murugan

Rajya Sabha elections: All five candidates in the fray for Rajya Sabha polls from Madhya Pradesh, including Union minister L Murugan, were on Tuesday declared unopposed. Four candidates from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and one from Congress were in the fray for Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh, all of them were elected unopposed as members of Rajya Sabha.

They were declared unopposed as only five nominations were received for the same number of seats, which were falling vacant, until the last day for withdrawal of nominations on February 20.

The five candidates were:

  • Union Minister L Murugan (BJP)
  • Madhya Pradesh BJP's women wing president Maya Naroliya (BJP)
  • Valmiki Dham Ashram head Umesh Nath Maharaj (BJP)
  • Kisan Morcha’s national vice president Banshilal Gurjar (BJP)
  • MP Congress unit treasurer Ashok Singh (Congress)

Rajya Sabha elections

The biennial election for Rajya Sabha seats, falling vacant as the terms of the incumbents MPs are set to expire, is scheduled for February 27. A total of 56 members of Rajya Sabha from 15 states are retiring in April and the election to the seats will be held on February 27. Union ministers Mansukh Mandaviya and Parshottam Rupala from Gujarat, and Union minister Narayan Rane from Maharashtra are among those retiring from the House. 

Union Ministers Rajeev Chandrasekhar (Karnataka), Dharmendra Pradhan (Madhya Pradesh), V Muraleedharan (Maharashtra) and Bhupender Yadav (Rajasthan) are also retiring and not being nominated by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) again. According to reports, all these ministers are likely to be fielded by the party in the upcoming Lok Sabha Election.

Others who are retiring include Manmohan Singh (Congress), Anil Baluni (BJP), Santunu Sen (AITC), Amar Patnaik (BJD), Kanta Kardam (BJP), Anil Desai (Shiv Sena-UBT), Vandana Chavan (NCP-Sharad Pawar), Prakash Javadekar (BJP), Amee Yajnik (Congress), Saroj Pandey (BJP), Sushil Kumar Modi (BJP) and Bashistha Narain Singh (JDU).   

Also Read: Gujarat: Four BJP candidates, including JP Nadda, elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Also Read: Congress leader Sonia Gandhi elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Madhya Pradesh