Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Advertisement
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Fact Check
  4. FACT CHECK: Did Travis Head drop Rohit Sharma's catch in World Cup 2023 Finals | Know the truth here

FACT CHECK: Did Travis Head drop Rohit Sharma's catch in World Cup 2023 Finals | Know the truth here

One user on X (formerly Twitter) shared the video with a caption insinuating Sharma's dismissal was unfair. Another post featured an image purportedly showing Head dropping the catch, with a caption alleging that the third umpire failed to review it, claiming it was not out.

Nitin Kumar Edited By: Nitin Kumar @Niitz1 Ahmedabad Published on: November 26, 2023 23:51 IST
FACT CHECK
Image Source : INDIA TV Screenshot of Travis Head taking Rohit Sharma's catch in the World Cup 2023 Finals.

A misleading video circulating on social media falsely claims that Australian cricketer Travis Head dropped Indian captain Rohit Sharma's catch during the ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023 finals. The edited clip has sparked speculation that Sharma was not out, but India TV's Fact Check team found these claims to be entirely false. The ICC Men's ODI World Cup finals took place on November 19, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, where Australia emerged victorious, defeating India by six wickets. Captain Rohit Sharma, after contributing 47 runs to the match, was dismissed.

The viral video in question depicts Sharma hitting the ball, followed by edited images suggesting the ball touched the ground before Travis Head could complete the catch. Misleading captions accompanying the video falsely assert that Sharma was not out, fueling controversy around the CWC 2023 finals.

India Tv - FACT CHECK

Image Source : INDIA TVScreenshot of a misleading video circulating on social media falsely claiming that Travis Head dropped Rohit Sharma's catch.

One user on X (formerly Twitter) shared the video with a caption insinuating Sharma's dismissal was unfair. Another post featured an image purportedly showing Head dropping the catch, with a caption alleging that the third umpire failed to review it, claiming it was not out.

India TV's Fact Check team investigated the video and found that it was manipulated. The original footage from the match confirms that Travis Head successfully caught the ball well before it made contact with the ground. A keyword search led to a Facebook video shared by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on November 19. The video's caption reads, "From loud raptures to stunned silence, Rohit Sharma smacks Glenn Maxwell but is back in the hut after a stunner from Travis Head." At the 0:17 mark in the video, Head's clean catch is evident.

India Tv - FACT CHECK

Image Source : INDIA TVIndia TV's Fact Check team investigated the video and found that it was manipulated.

Further verification was conducted by searching for the viral image on Google. The same photo, shared by the Getty Stock Images website on November 19, 2023, depicted Travis Head making a legitimate catch during the match.

Several reputable sources, including the Associated Press and Fox Sports, reported on the CWC 2023 finals, acknowledging Travis Head's crucial catch. In the second innings of the match, Head's remarkable performance included scoring 137 runs off 120 balls, contributing significantly to Australia's sixth World Cup title.

In conclusion, the viral video and claims asserting that Travis Head dropped Rohit Sharma's catch are unfounded and based on manipulated content. The evidence from original match footage and credible news sources clearly refutes these false assertions.

Also read | Fact Check: No, crowd didn't chant Hanuman Chalisa during World Cup Final, viral video is edited

Advertisement

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Fact Check

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement