live tv
  1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Kiwis bowl out Lankans for 247 in first Test

Kiwis bowl out Lankans for 247 in first Test

Currently reading: Kiwis bowl out Lankans for 247 in first Test
India TV News Desk [Updated:18 Nov 2012, 20:28:58]

Galle, Sri Lanka, Nov 18: Captain Mahela Jayawardene fell nine runs short of a century as Sri Lanka was bowled out for 247 and a first—innings lead of 26 over New Zealand on the second day of the first Test on Sunday.

Spin bowler Rangana Herath struck early in New Zealand's second innings, dismissing Brendon McCullum for 13. The visitors closed the day at 35—1 with a 9—run second—innings lead.

Jayawardene and Angelo Mathews shared 156 runs for the sixth wicket after Sri Lanka collapsed to 50—5 in the morning facing some aggressive seam bowling by Tim Southee.

At stumps, opener Martin Guptill (13 not out) was batting with Kane Williamson (9).


Tharanga Paranavitana b Southee 0

Dimuth Karunaratne lbw b Southee 0

Suraj Randiv c Guptill b Southee 9

Kumar Sangakkara c McCullum b Boult 5

Mahela Jayawardene c van Wyk b Patel 91

Thilan Samaraweera lbw b Souththee 17

Angelo Mathews c van Wyk b Franklin 79

Prasanna Jayawardene c Bracewell b Patel 4

Nuwan Kulasekara c ad b Patel 8

Rangana Herath not out 11

Shaminda Eranga c Bracewell b Boult 4

Extras- (8b, 9lb, 2nb) 19

TOTAL- (all out) 247

Overs- 80.2.

Batting time- 353 minutes.

Fall of wickets- 1—2, 2—9, 3—18, 4—20, 5—50, 6—206, 7—215, 8—229, 9—242.

Bowling- Trent Boult 16.2—3—46—2 (2nb), Tim Southee 18—4—46—4, Doug Bracewell 16—1—67—0, James Franklin 7—2—16—1, Jeetan Patel 23—7—55—3.

Martin Guptill not out 13

Brendon McCullum c Kulasekara b Herath 13

Kane Williamson not out 9

TOTAL- ( for 1 wicket) 35

Overs- 10.

Batting time- 40 minutes.

Fall of wickets- 1—18.

Still to bat- Ross Taylor, Kruger van Wyk, James Franklin, Daniel Flynn, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult

Bowling- Nuwan Kulasekara 4—0—17—0, Shaminda Eranga 1—0—4—0, Rangana Herath 4—0—13—1, Suraj Randiv 1—0—1—0.
Toss- won by New Zealand.

Umpires- Marais Erasmus, South Africa, and Nigel Llong, England.

TV Umpire- Ranmore Martinesz, Sri Lanka. Match Referee- Javagal Srinath, India.
kiwis bowl out lankans for 247 in first test- India Tv
kiwis bowl out lankans for 247 in first test