Saturday, May 18, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. WPL 2024: Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp charge Delhi Capitals to dominant win over UP Warriorz

WPL 2024: Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp charge Delhi Capitals to dominant win over UP Warriorz

The veteran South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp took three wickets for five and Radha Yadav bagged four to restrict UP Warriorz to just 119/9 and then Shafali Verma and Meg Lanning registered brilliant fifties to chase the target in just 14.1 overs.

Written By: Sumeet Kavthale @sumeetkavthale New Delhi Updated on: February 26, 2024 23:46 IST
Delhi Capitals
Image Source : PTI Delhi Capitals players celebrating against UP Warriors in the WPL 2024 game on February 26

Delhi Capitals registered their first win in the Women's Premier League 2024 with a dominating nine-wicket win over UP Warriorz on Monday. The fifties from Shafali Verma and Meg Lanning paved the way for the Capitals while chasing the 120-run target in the fourth match of the WPL 2024. 

The veteran South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and Indian spinner Radha Yadav took seven wickets combined to restrict Warriorz to 119/9 while bowling first at Bengaluru's M Chinnaswamy Stadium. UP Warriorz bowlers then failed to contain Meg and Shafali who added defining 119 runs for the opening wickets for Delhi.

After starting the WPL 2024 campaign with losses, both UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals eyed points in the fourth match of this season. Lanning won the toss for the Capitals and elected to field the first with the same playing eleven while Warriorz handed the debut to veteran spinner Gouher Sultana. 

Alyssa Healy showed aggression in the start by smashing two fours off Shikha Pandey in the second over. But Kapp bowled one of the best spells of her illustrious T20 career to give Delhi an upper hand in the powerplay over. Kapp dismissed youngster Dinesh Vrinda in the third wicket-maiden over and then took two big wickets of Tahlia McGrath and Healy in the fifth over.

After Kapp's early punch, Indian spinner Radha Yadav dominated the game with four wickets. Shweta Sehrawat scored 45 off 42 balls to single-handedly guide UP Warriorz past 100 and to give bowlers some fighting chance.

Then Meg and Shafali proved Delhi's superiority with a bat by adding 119 runs for the opening wicket. The Australian legend scored 51 off just 43 balls before losing her wicket in the 15th over but Shafali remained unbeaten on 64 off just 43 balls to help Delhi record their first win of the season. 

UP Warriorz Playing XI: Alyssa Healy (c & wk), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Gouher Sultana

Delhi Capitals Women Playing XI: Meg Lanning (c), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Annabel Sutherland, Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section