India Vs Australia 2018 2019
  1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Bowlers that deceived best of batsmen in Indian Premier League

Bowlers that deceived best of batsmen in Indian Premier League

As we enter the 11th edition of Indian Premier League, let's take a look at top five wicket-takers of the league so far.

Written by: Brett Ellis, New Delhi [ Updated: April 06, 2018 14:40 IST ]
Image Source : PTI

A file photograph of Amit Mishra and Harbhajan Singh

In the past one decade of the Indian Premier League (IPL), bowlers have displayed tremendous grit, defying the fact that the pressure is the only constant in the shortest format of cricket. Be it the most crucial overs or the during the powerplay, the bowlers in IPL never fail to amaze. A bowler knows that in a T20 match, the probability of getting thrashed for a boundary is higher than collecting a wicket and that's what sparks the match to life as in every delivery, the fans and players can expect the unexpected.

The IPL is the only platform that can make or break a player. Legends of the game have participated and have created history and the chapters are still being scripted as the 11th edition of the lucrative league begins April 7.

During the 10 seasons that have just flown by, numerous records have been shattered. Every season has something new to look forward to and the IPL never fails to deliver as the top stars take center stage and do what they do best. As we enter the 11th edition, let's take a look at top five wicket-takers in the IPL so far.

Dwayne Bravo

The West Indies all-rounder is a classic example of how an all-rounder should be. Powerful with the bat and smart with the ball, Bravo is known to be lethal with his deliveries. The all-rounder started his stint with Chennai Super Kings in 2008 and has been a part of the brigade ever since then. Even though the Yellow cramp were suspended for two-years, his consistent performances went on with Gujarat Lions as well. Now that he his back in the camp with MS Dhoni leading the Thalaivas, Bravo will ensure that he will come back stronger than before.


Dwayne Bravo has played 106 matches since 2008 and has been the guy to look out for. The West Indies all-rounder has collected 122 wickets with the best figure of 4/22. He has an average of 22.27 and an economy rate of 8.15 where he has two four-wicket hauls.

Piyush Chawla

The right-arm break leg-spinner is deadly and is quite underestimated as well and that's what the Uttar Pradesh bowler uses to his advantage. He is capable of bowling the unexpected and that's what makes the T20 league special. The Indian player can also perform equally well with the bat but it has been his spells that have worked in the Indian Premier League. Chawla started his IPL stint with Kings XI Punjab and later on joined rivals Kolkata Knight Riders. The spinner was bought back by the Kolkata franchise and is expected to perform as well as he has performed in the past seasons.


The Uttar Pradesh spinner has so far played 129 matches and has bowled 427.1 overs. He has an average of 25.88 and an economy rate of 7.63. Chawla has collected 126 wickets so far in his IPL career with the best figure of 4/17. He has two four-wicket hauls to his name. The KKR spinner is one to look out for.

Harbhajan Singh

One of the most charismatic and phenomenal players that have represented Team India, Harbhajan Singh has been the life of the team wherever he is present. The veteran bowler has excelled in the limited-overs format and the IPL has given 'Bhajji' another definition. Known as match-winner, as his damage with the ball is as destructive as when he is with the bat. Bhajji played for Mumbai Indians since its inception and will now be seen playing along MS Dhoni in CSK.


Bhajji has played 136 matches for Mumbai Indians so far and will script a new chapter in his life with CSK in the 11th edition of the league. Harbhajan has bowled 484.3 overs in the IPL and has collected 127 wickets, one above KKR's Piyush Chawla. He has one five-wicket haul to his name and one four-wicket haul. His best figures round to an astonishing 5/18. With an average of 26.54 and an economy rate of 6.95, Bhajji's experience will play a major role for Chennai in the IPL 2018.

Amit Mishra

A leg spinner who plays for Haryana in the Ranji Trophy has bedazzled the cricketing world with his nagging accuracy and loops. Amit Mishra started his stint with Delhi Daredevils, then played for Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad and is now back with Delhi under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. The tricky leg-spinner is just 20 wickets away from becoming the all-time wicket-taker as the no.1 player on the list will not be on the field anymore.


Amit Mishra has played 126 matches in the IPL so far and has bowled 439 overs. The Haryana bowler has 134 wickets to his name and has an average of 24.33 and an economy rate of 7.41. Mishra has three four-wicket hauls and one five-wicket haul with the best figure of 5/17.

Lasith Malinga

Mumbai Indians veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga has had an illustrious career in the IPL 2018 since he joined the most successful franchise in 2009 and has been a thrill to watch. In the recent years Malinga's spell has hit a rough patch. The Sri Lankan pacer has been one of the most enigmatic bowlers as his raw pace has rippled past bowlers and this year the 34-year old has decided to work with the Mumbai Indians as a part of the coaching staff. The IPL has witnessed one of the greats and Malinga's profile sits right on top as he is the highest wicket-taker in the IPL at the moment. The feat is achievable but still is a long way before the closest of Amit Mishra collects the purple cap.


Malinga has played 110 matches where he has bowled 426.2 overs in his IPL career. He has collected a whopping 154 wickets in the nine seasons he has played for Mumbai Indians with the best figure of 5/13.  The Sri Lankan pacer has an average of 19.01 and an economy rate of 6.86. He has 4 four-wicket hauls and one five-wicket haul. Though Malinga's presence won't be on the field, his achievements say it all.

Write a comment

Election 2018

Live Scorecard