Sunday, February 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Mizoram
  4. Mizoram Assembly election results: Lalduhoma's ZPM wins 27 seats, ousts MNF from power

Mizoram Assembly election results: Lalduhoma's ZPM wins 27 seats, ousts MNF from power

The voting in the 40 seats of Mizoram for the Assembly polls took place on November 7. The ZPM won the elections with comfortable majority.

Ashesh Mallick Edited By: Ashesh Mallick @asheshmallick07 Aizawl Updated on: December 04, 2023 14:55 IST
Mizoram Assembly elections 2023, Election Results
Image Source : X/LALDUHOMA Leader of Zoram People's Movement Party, Lalduhoma

Mizoram Assembly election results: The Opposition ZPM has crossed the halfway mark of 21 seats during the counting of votes in Mizoram Assembly polls and won 27 seats. The ruling MNF was dethroned which won only seven seats and is leading in three others.

The BJP won two seats while Congress is leading in one.

The counting of votes for the 40 Assembly seats began at 8 am today.

ZPM's Lalduhoma won from the Serchhip constituency with a margin of 2982 votes, securing 8314 votes, according to the Election Commission.

More than 4,000 personnel are involved in the counting process. In all, there are 399 tables for the EVMs and 56 for the counting of postal ballots.

Polling was held on November 7, and over 80 per cent of the state's 8.57 lakh voters exercised their franchise. A total of 174 candidates, including 18 women, were in the fray.

The MNF, ZPM and Congress contested 40 seats each, while the BJP fielded candidates in 23 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which contested the assembly polls here for the first time, fought in four seats. Also, there were 17 Independent candidates.

(With PTI inputs)


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Mizoram