Tuesday, June 18, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Election
  4. Telangana Assembly Elections
  5. Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: Here's how various regions voted in 2014 | ALL DETAILS INSIDE

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: Here's how various regions voted in 2014 | ALL DETAILS INSIDE

The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) led by K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) is hoping to repeat its 2014 victory.

Written by: India TV News Desk New Delhi Updated on: November 30, 2018 16:37 IST
Representative Image

Representative Image

The stage is set for fierce battle as Telangana is all geared of its first independent assembly elections on December 7. The counting of votes will take alongside Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Rajasthan on December 11.

The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) led by K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) is hoping to repeat its 2014 victory. The Congress, on the other hand, has left no stone unturned to regain foothold in the state, which was once its bastion as part of Andhra Pradesh. The party has entered into a pre-poll grand alliance (named Praja Kutami) with Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and newly formed Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS).

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) are other major political parties in fray.

ALSO READ |  Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: Full polling schedule and significance | COMPLETE DETAILS INSIDE

Let's look at how various political parties fared and how various regions vote in 2014 elections.

In the 2014 assembly election, the TRS bagged 63 seats with a vote share of 34 percent and the Congress 21 seats with 25 percent vote share.

The TDP had then fought the poll in alliance with BJP. The TDP won 15 seats with 14.5 percent vote share and the BJP five with seven percent vote share. AIMIM managed to win seven seats, YSR Congress three seats and Bahujan Samaj Party two seats in the state. Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist) won one seat each, while the remaining one seat was won by an Independent candidate.


India Tv - Seat share of various political parties in 2014 Election.


Seat share of various political parties in 2014 Election.

Region-wise analysis


Constituencies: Amberpet, Bahadurpura, Chandrayangutta, Charminar, Goshamahal, Jubilee Hills, Karwan, Khairatabad, Malakpet, Musheerabad, Nampally, Sanathnagar, Secundarabad, Secundarabad Cantt, Yakutpura

This is the only region with the least grip of ruling TRS. With a majority of Muslim population, as many as seven seats have been ruled by AIMIM, four by BJP, three by TDP and just one by TRS. BJP state chief K Laxman holds one of the constituencies in the region – Musheerabad.

Ranga Reddy

Constituencies: Chevella, Ibrahimpatnam, Kukatpally, Lal Bahadur Nagar, Maheshwaram, Malkajgiri, Medchal, Pargi, Quthbullapur, Rajendranagar, Serilingampally, Tandur, Uppal, Vikarabad

The region shows domination of N Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP with the party ruling seven out of 14 seats. TRS runs behind TDP with four seats, while Congress rules two and BJP one seat in the region.

ALSO READ |  Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: History of formation of India's youngest state, other key facts | ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW


Constituencies: Andole, Dubbak, Gajwel, Medak, Narayankhed, Narsapur, Patancheru, Sangareddy, Siddipet, Zahirabad

The region was dominated by TRS with the party emerged victorious on eight out of 10 seats in the polls. It includes important Gajwel and Siddipet seats ruled by caretaker CM KCR and his nephew and state minister T Harish Rao, respectively.


Constituencies: Adilabad, Asifabad, Bellampalli, Boath, Chennur, Khanapur, Mancherial, Mudhole, Nirmal, Sirpur

TRS managed to win 70 percent seats in the region, which is seven out of 10. Two were won by BSP, while one went to Congress’ kitty.


Constituencies: Choppadandi, Dharmapuri, Husnabad, Huzurabad, Karimnagar, Koratla, Jagtial, Manakondur, Manthani, Peddapalle, Ramagundam, Sircilla, Vemulawada

The region is highly dominated by TRS with a tally of 12 out of 13 seats falling in its basket. One of the seats ruled by KCR son and state minister KT Rama Rao. The TRS leader fought and won from Sircilla.

ALSO READ | Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: All you need to know about K Chandrashekhar Rao, 'chief architect' of Telangana movement


Constituencies: Aswaraopeta, Bhadrachalam, Khammam, Kothagudem, Madhira, Palair, Pinapaka, Sathupalli, Wyra, Yellandu

The fight in this region was closer than any other. Congress won four seats and was closely followed by YSR Congress party with three seats. TRS, TDP and CPI won one seat each.


Constituencies: Achampet, Alampur, Devarkadra, Gadwal, Jadcherla, Kalwakurthy, Kodangal, Kollapur, Mahbubnagar, Makthal, Nagarkurnool, Narayanpet, Shadnagar, Wanaparthy

The region was largely dominated by TRS, which gain foothold on seven seats. Next was Congress with five seats, while TDP won on two seats.


Constituencies: Alair, Bhongir, Devarakonda, Huzurnagar, Kodad, Miryalguda, Munugode, Nagarjuna Sagar, Nakrekal, Nalgonda, Suryapet, Thungathurthy

This was another close-contested region. The seat sharing was six and five by TRS and Congress, respectively. Remaining one seat was won by CPI. Congress state chieg Uttam Kumar Reddy is MLA from Huzurnag constituency.


Constituencies: Armur, Balkonda, Banswada, Bodhan, Jukkal, Kamareddy, Nizamabad (Urban), Nizamabad (Rural), Yellareddy

This is the only region which is completely ruled by TRS.


Constituencies: Bhupalpalle, Dornakal, Jangaon, Ghanpur, Mahabubabad, Mulug, Narsampet, Palakurthi, Parkal, Warangal East, Warangal West, Wardannapet

The region highly supported KCR and his party, as voters in eight out of 12 seats cast their votes in its favour. Two seats were won by TDP, while Congress and an Independent candidate won one seat each.

In subsequent months, after poll results, the ruling party went on a poaching spree and increased its strength to 90, with legislators from the Congress, the TDP, the YSR Congress Party and the CPI.

The assembly speaker sat on their disqualification petitions, forcing the opposition parties to approach the Supreme Court, where the matter was pending when the assembly was dissolved prematurely in September.




Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election and Telangana Assembly Elections Section