Friday, June 21, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. KKR vs SRH IPL 2024 final breaks 14-year-old historical record in tournament

KKR vs SRH IPL 2024 final breaks 14-year-old historical record in tournament

Kolkata Knight Riders chased down the 114-run total with ease in 10.3 overs with eight wickets in hand against Sunrisers Hyderabad. KKR have won their third IPL title after beating SRH in the IPL 2024 final. The match has shattered a 14-year-old record in IPL.

Edited By: Varun Malik @varunm0212 New Delhi Updated on: May 27, 2024 2:37 IST
SRH and KKR players.
Image Source : BCCI/IPL SRH and KKR players.

The high-scoring IPL 2024 ended with a proper anticlimax with Kolkata Knight Riders thrashing Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final in a low-scoring game at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The Knight Riders clinched their third title after their win in 2012 and 2014.

KKR chased down a meagre total of 114 after bowling SRH out for just 113 in 18.3 overs. The SRH batters had no answers for the KKR bowlers as all the six bowlers used took at least a wicket. 

KKR hardly broke a sweat in the run-chase and went on to chase the target in just 10.3 overs with eight wickets in hand. This match has shattered a 14-year-old record in the IPL history.

This whole match lasted for just 29 overs, making it the shortest playoff/knockout match in the history of IPL. The previous shortest game in terms of overs was the third-place playoff between RCB & Deccan Chargers in Navi Mumbai in 2010. 

That game lasted 32.2 overs and was won by RCB. RCB bowled DC out for just 82 overs in 18.3 overs and then chased down the target in 13.5 overs with nine wickets in hand.

KKR bowlers started on a strong note with Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora taking both the SRH openers - Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head in the first two overs. Head departed for a golden duck as he ended the tournament on a poor note. Starc then got Rahul Tripathi in the 5th over before the other bowlers joined the party. 

SRH kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Pat Cummins was the highest run-scorer for them with his 24-run knock from seven down. But he departed in the 19th over as SRH were bowled out for the lowest total in the IPL final.

KKR were cruising away in the run-chase. While Cummins got Sunil Narine in the second over, there was no hiccup in the run chase. Venkatesh Iyer smashed an unbeaten fifty, while Rahmanullah Gurbaz also scored 39 from 32 balls. Venkatesh hit the winning runs, a single off an inside edge to take KKR home and in euphoria


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section