Saturday, February 24, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Maharashtra
  4. Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena carries out major overhaul ahead of 2024 polls: Details inside

Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena carries out major overhaul ahead of 2024 polls: Details inside

To strengthen its organisational fabric in Maharashtra, Shiv Sena designates specific roles to ten leaders, with Sanjay Raut holding a pivotal position. This move signals Shiv Sena's effort to consolidate structures, streamline leadership, and adapt to political shifts before critical events.

Reported By : Sachin Chaudhary Edited By : Nitin Kumar
Updated on: November 27, 2023 19:58 IST
Uddhav Thackeray
Image Source : PTI/FILE PHOTO Mumbai: Shiv Sena (UBT) President Uddhav Thackeray during a press conference in Mumbai.

In the wake of internal turmoil within the Shiv Sena, former Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray has implemented significant organisational changes for the first time on a large scale. Shiv Sena is organising a statewide conclave, Shiv Sena UBT, in January, focusing on preparations for upcoming elections, including strategic changes in Maharashtra and Delhi. Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray is set to embark on a state tour, addressing rallies and organising meetings to discuss the party's future course.

To fortify organisational strength in Maharashtra, Shiv Sena has assigned specific responsibilities to ten leaders who will play a crucial role in the upcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. Among them, Sanjay Raut, known for his close association with Thackeray, holds a prominent position.

This move comes as Shiv Sena aims to consolidate its organisational structure, streamline leadership responsibilities, and make strategic alterations ahead of critical political events. The appointments signify Uddhav Thackeray's proactive approach to internal issues, emphasising a united front for the party's political endeavors.

The significance of these changes lies in Shiv Sena's intent to strengthen its foothold in Maharashtra and project a more robust political presence. The organisational reshuffling indicates the party's determination to face political challenges and set the stage for upcoming electoral battles.

The assigned leaders are expected to navigate Uddhav Thackeray's political journey in the state, ensuring cohesion within the party and devising strategies to address evolving political scenarios. This restructuring initiative reflects Shiv Sena's commitment to adapting to changing political landscapes and maintaining its relevance on the state and national levels.

Who was given what responsibility?

1) MP Sanjay Raut-North Maharashtra and Pune

Lok Sabha Constituency :- Nashik, Dindori, Jalgaon, Raver, Dhule, Nandurbar, Nagar, Shirdi, Pune, Baramati, Shirur, Maval (Assembly – Pimpri, Chinchwad, Maval)

2) Anant Geete, Konkan (Raigad)
Lok Sabha Constituency :- Raigad, Maval (Assembly – Panvel, Karjat, Uran)

3) Chandrakant Khaire, Marathwada
Lok Sabha Constituency: Sambhajinagar, Jalna

4) MP Arvind Sawant, West Vidarbha
Lok Sabha Constituency: Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Yavatmal-Washim, Wardha

5) MP Anil Desai, West Maharashtra
Lok Sabha Constituency: Satara, Madha, Sangli, Kolhapur, Ichalkaranji

6) MLA Bhaskar Jadhav, East Vidarbha
Lok Sabha constituencies: Nagpur, Ramtek, Bhandara-Gondia, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli-Chimur

7) MP Vinayak Raut
Konkan (Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg)
Lok Sabha Constituency: Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg

8) MP Rajan Vichare
Konkan (Thane, Palghar)
Lok Sabha Constituency: Thane, Kalyan, Bhiwandi, Palghar

9) MLA Ravindra Vaykar
Lok Sabha Constituency: Nanded, Hingoli, Parbhani

10) MLA Sunil Prabhu
Marathwada, Solapur
Lok Sabha Constituency: Solapur, Dharashiv, Latur, Beed

Also read | Maharashtra: Tanker carrying ethylene oxide overturns on Pune-Ahmednagar road, fire engines rushed


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Maharashtra