Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Women's Asia Cup, IND vs MLY: Struggling Shafali in focus as India take on Malaysia

Women's Asia Cup, IND vs MLY: Struggling Shafali in focus as India take on Malaysia

Team India will want to carry momentum from their previous win against Sri Lanka.

Aachal Maniyar Edited By: Aachal Maniyar New Delhi Published on: October 02, 2022 22:55 IST
Team India
Image Source : PTI Team India

Shafali Verma couldn't have asked for an easier opponent to regain the momentum as India get ready to face Malaysia in their second T20 match of the women's Asia Cup on Monday.

After a comfortable win against Sri Lanka, guided by Jemimah Rodrigues, the less experienced Indian players are expected to get some game time as the team prepares for the T20 World Cup in South Africa early next year. On the other hand, the Malaysian side was thrashed by Pakistan by nine wickets in its opener.

Shafali, who has endured a dismal run, would want to come out all guns blazing and may take this opportunity to try an alternate batting approach as her natural game has not been yielding success off late.

The 18-year-old has not scored a T20I half-century since March last year but played a couple of good knocks at the Commonwealth Games. 

The big-hitting opener needs to find consistency after three years in international cricket. Her lack of footwork was the main cause of her undoing as English bowlers capitalised on her weakness.

For vice-captain Smriti Mandhana, who failed to get going against Sri Lanka, the game will be about quality hitting time in the middle against an attack that is sure to feel intimidated.

Rodrigues, who came off a wrist injury, made an instant impact with a sensational career-best performance while Harmanpreet has also been in imperious touch.

The tournament provided India with the perfect platform to experiment and several new players like Kiran Navgire could be seen in the playing XI come Monday.

Finding the right combination with the ball is also high on India's priority list.

With the pitch here producing knee-length bounce on the opening day of the competition itself, India are expected to field a spin-heavy attack with Renuka Singh being the sole specialist pacer.

The Teams 

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, KP Navgire.

Malaysia: Winifred Duraisingam (c), Mas Elysa, Aina Najwa, Ainna Hamizah Hashim, Aisya Eleesa, Dhanusri Muhunan, Jamahidaya Intan, Mahirah Izzati Ismail, Noor Hayati Zakaria, Nur Arianna Natsya , Nur Dania Syuhada , Nurilyaa Natasya, Sasha Azmi, Elsa Hunter, Wan Julia.

(Inputs from PTI

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section