Sunday, April 21, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. New Zealand pull off comeback win against Bangladesh to avoid Test series loss

New Zealand pull off comeback win against Bangladesh to avoid Test series loss

Glenn Phillips turned up for the occasion again by scoring an unbeaten 40 runs off 48 balls in the fourth innings to help New Zealand chase down a 138-run target with four wickets remaining. A win also helped Kiwis to jump to third position in the WTC points table.

Sumeet Kavthale Written By: Sumeet Kavthale @sumeetkavthale New Delhi Published on: December 09, 2023 16:38 IST
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2nd Test Day 4
Image Source : GETTY New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2nd Test Day 4

New Zealand pulled off a stunning four-wicket win in the thrilling Mirpur Test to avoid a series loss against Bangladesh on Saturday, December 9. Despite rain interruption, the game finished on Day 4 with spinners getting the majority of wickets from both sides.

Glenn Phillips, who smashed a brilliant fifty in New Zealand's first innings, emerged as a saviour for the Kiwis in the second innings as well. Glenn and Mitchell Santner pulled off an unbeaten 70-run stand for the seventh wicket to drag New Zealand from 69/6 to the finish line in a memorable Test at  Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Ajaz Patel took six wickets in the second innings and Mitchell Santner took three to bowl out Bangladesh on just 144 runs on Day 4. However, the hosts quickly regained control of the game with early wickets in the last innings with Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Taijul Islam grabbing a combined five wickets.

But once again Kiwi's lower order proved their mettle to snatch a lost game. Glenn remained unbeaten on 40 runs off 48 balls while Mitchell Santner added 35* runs to secure New Zealand a four-wicket win. Glenn bagged the Player of the Match award for scoring 127 runs in two innings and taking three wickets. Bangladesh's spinner Taijul Islam claimed the Player of the Series award for taking 15 wickets in this series.

New Zealand will next host Bangladesh in three ODIs and the same number of T20I matches starting on December 17 in Dunedin.

Bangladesh Playing XI: Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nurul Hasan (wk), Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam

New Zealand Playing XI: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee (c), Ajaz Patel


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section