Saturday, June 22, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Mohammed Shami receives Arjuna Award from President Droupadi Murmu | WATCH

Mohammed Shami receives Arjuna Award from President Droupadi Murmu | WATCH

Mohammed Shami had a brilliant year in cricket as he helped the Indian team win many matches in 2023. Shami was particularly brilliant in the ODI World Cup 2023 as he was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament despite missing a few matches.

Written By: Varun Malik @varunm0212 New Delhi Updated on: January 09, 2024 12:23 IST
Mohammed Shami, Droupadi Murmu
Image Source : SCREENGRAB @ANI Mohammed Shami received the Arjuna Award from Droupadi Murmu.

Indian cricketer Mohammed Shami on Tuesday received the prestigious Arjuna Award from President Droupadi Murmu for his brilliant contribution to Indian cricket. Shami, who had a stellar 2023, was awarded the honour at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India had recommended the pacer's name for the prestigious honour. Shami was extremely happy when he was nominated for the award. "This award is a dream, life passes and people are not able to win this award. It’s a matter of great joy and I’m feeling proud. A lot of individuals remain mere spectators as they watch others win these awards throughout their lives. It’s a dream that remains unfulfilled for many," Shami had said on Monday to ANI on being nominated for the second biggest sporting honour in the country. 

Watch the video here:

Sheetal Devi, Asian Games' stars awarded too

Notably, the Indian President Murmu honoured several other stars too. She presented the Arjuna Award to young sensation Sheetal Devi and several other Indian stars of the Asian Games. The list features India's Asian Games heroes like Aditi Gopichand Swami, Sreeshankar Murali, Parul Chaudhary, Esha Singh and Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar among others. 

List of sportspersons to receive Arjuna Award in 2023


  1. Ojas Pravin Deotale (Archery)

  2. Aditi Gopichand Swami (Archery)
  3. Sreeshankar M (Athletics) 
  4. Parul Chaudhary (Athletics) 
  5. Mohameed Hussamuddin (Boxing)
  6. R Vaishali (Chess)
  7. Mohammed Shami (Cricket)
  8. Anush Agarwalla (Equestrian)
  9. Divyakriti Singh (Equestrian Dressage)
  10. Diksha Dagar (Golf)
  11. Krishan Bahadur Pathak (Hockey) 
  12. Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu (Hockey)
  13. Pawan Kumar (Kabaddi)
  14. Ritu Negi (Kabaddi)
  15. Nasreen (Kho-Kho)
  16. Pinki (Lawn Bowls)
  17. Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (Shooting)
  18. Esha Singh (Shooting)
  19. Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (Squash)
  20. Ayhika Mukherjee (Table Tennis)
  21. Sunil Kumar (Wrestling)
  22. Antim (Wrestling)
  23. Naorem Roshibina Devi (Wushu)
  24. Sheetal Devi (Para Archery)
  25. Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (Blind Cricket)
  26. Prachi Yadav (Para Canoeing)

Shami's stellar run in World Cup 2023

Mohammed Shami was one of the brightest stars in the Indian team during the ODI World Cup 2023. He wreaked havoc as oppositions found him a nightmare to deal with. The pace merchant picked up 24 wickets in just seven matches despite missing the initial four games of the tournament. He went on to break several records too and became India's all-time highest wicket-taker in the history of the tournament. 


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section