Indian TV Samvaad
Indian T20 League 2018
  1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. IPL 10, KKR vs GL: Gujarat win by 4 wickets

IPL 10, KKR vs GL: Gujarat win by 4 wickets

Gujarat Lions (GL) have won the toss and elected to field first against table toppers Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in a return Indian Premier League (IPL) fixture here at the Eden Gardens on Friday.

India TV Sports Desk, Kolkata [ Updated: April 21, 2017 23:54 IST ]
Gujarat win by 4 wickets

Gujarat Lions (GL) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by four wickets in their IPL match here on Friday.

In front of a packed Eden Gardens, Narine dealt only in boundaries during his 17-ball 42 (9x4, 1x6) setting a new record of all runs scored in fours and sixes.

Uthappa (72; 48b 8x4 2x6) made the most of his reprieve -- he was dropped on 6 by Aaron Finch -- to hold the innings together and bring up his 19th IPL fifty and second successive one at the Eden.

While Manish Pandey (24; 21b 2x4 0x6) was castled by Basil Thampi and Suryakumar Yadav was run out (1), Yusuf Pathan remained unbeaten at 11.

Narine eclipsed Sri Lanka batting great Sanath Jayasuriya's tally of 36 runs scored in boundaries when the dashing southpaw was playing for Mumbai Indians against Deccan Chargers.

Alongwith skipper Gautam Gambhir (33; 28b 2x4 1x6), he engineered a 45-run partnership, finding the fence every three balls taking Praveen Kumar, James Faulkner and Thampi to the cleaners.

Faulkner -- playing his first match for Gujarat this season -- suffered the most, going for three back-to-back fours in his last three deliveries as the Aussie allrounder, who was dropped from the Champions Trophy squad, went for 17 runs in his first over.

Courtesy the Narine blitzkrieg, the hosts were 65/1 after the powerplay.

Visiting skipper Suresh Raina finally put an end to the Narine show by bowling a back of length ball to which the batsman pulled late allowing Faulkner to pedal backwards and complete the catch from midwicket. 

Uthappa, in his new found No. 3 role, seamlessly blended with Gambhir to stitch together a 69-run stand for the second wicket as the men in purple tore their weak counterpart's bowling attack to shreds.

Jadeja missed a run out opportunity off Dwayne Smith's bowling, throwing at the wrong end when Uthappa was halfway down the crease at the non-striker's end. Gambhir benefitted from the gaffe, bagging four overthrows.

The in-form home team skipper fell to Faulkner soon after with KKR well set for a big score at 114/2, top edging a good length delivery to skipper Raina at midwicket.

Uthappa was finally taken by Praveen Kumar but the damage was already done.

Brief scores: Kolkata Knight Riders: 187/5 in 20 overs (Robin Uthappa 72, Sunil Narine 42) vs Gujarat Lions


Play suspended due to rain and Gujarat is ahead on D/L method at the moment 

2.6: S Al Hasan to A Finch, 6 runs, 40/0

19.5: WICKET! S Yadav (1) is out, run out (Brendon McCullum), 186/5 

19.3: WICKET! M Pandey (24) is out, b Basil Thampi, 184/4

18.2: WICKET! R Uthappa (72) is out, c Brendon McCullum b Praveen Kumar, 169/3

17.2: B Thampi to R Uthappa, 6 runs, 164/2

* Wicket! 11.3: G Gambhir (33) is out, c Suresh Raina b James Faulkner, 114/2

4.4: D Kulkarni to G Gambhir, 4 runs, 56/1

Wicket! Narine departs for 42

Gujarat win toss, elect to bowl against


KKR: Gautam Gambhir (c), Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Shakib Al Hasan, Chris Lynn, Umesh Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Sheldon Jackson, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, Trent Boult, Chris Woakes, Rishi Dhawan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rovman Powell, R Sanjay Yadav, Ishank Jaggi, Darren Bravo, Sayan Ghosh, Colin de Grandhomme

GL: Suresh Raina (c), Ravindra Jadeja, James Faulkner, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Aaron Finch, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Andrew Tye, Ishan Kishan (wk), Pradeep Sangwan, Shivil Kaushik, Shadab Jakati, Jaydev Shah. Jason Roy, Basil Thampi, Manpreet Gony, Shubham Agarwal, Tejas Singh Baroka, Chirag Suri, Pratham Singh, Shelley Shaurya.

(WIth inputs from IANS)

Live Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018: FULL COVERAGE

VIVO IPL 2018: Click here to get Live Score Updates, Ball-by-Ball Commentary, Schedule, Points Table, Match Timing and Match Analysis.

Promoted Content
Indian T20 League 2018

Live Scorecard