Monday, May 27, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. India
  4. Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP drops Kirron Kher from Chandigarh, fields Sanjay Tandon

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP drops Kirron Kher from Chandigarh, fields Sanjay Tandon

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced a total of nine more candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the latest list. The first phase of general elections will commence from April 19 and the counting of votes is set for June 4.

Edited By: Shashwat Bhandari @ShashBhandari New Delhi Updated on: April 10, 2024 14:23 IST
Lok Sabha elections 2024, Kirron Kher, Sanjay Tandon
Image Source : PTI, ANI BJP leaders Kirron Kher and Sanjay Tandon.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday released another list of nine candidates for Lok Sabha elections. The party has dropped incumbent Chandigarh MP Kirron Kher and fielded Sanjay Tandon in her place in the upcoming polls.

Among other names, the saffron party has fielded Jaiveer Singh Thakur against Akhilesh Yadav's wife Dimple Yadav from Uttar Pradesh's Mainpuri, SS Ahluwalia from Asansol in West Bengal, Praveen Patel from Phulpur, Neeraj Tripathi from Allahabad (Prayagraj) and Vinod Sonkar from Kaushambi.

Neeraj Shekhar, son of former Prime Minister, late Chandra Shekhar, has been named as a candidate for the Ballia Lok Sabha seat replacing the sitting MP Virendra Singh Mast.

The party named its sitting MP SS Ahluwalia as the candidate from Asansol Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Ahluwalia currently represents Bardhaman-Durgapur Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal.

The BJP, in its 10th list, announced candidates for a total of 9 Lok Sabha seats, seven in Uttar Pradesh, one each in Chandigarh and West Bengal.

According to the list, Paras Nath Rai will contest the Lok Sabha election from Ghazipur seat in Uttar Pradesh.

Another sitting MP who has been dropped is Dr Rita Bahuguna Joshi from Allahabad. The BJP has given the ticket to Neeraj Tripathi, son of former Speaker Kesri Nath Tripathi.

The sitting MP from Phulpur Keshri Devi Patel has also been replaced with Parveen Patel. BP Saroj, MP from Machhlishahr, has been renominated to contest elections.

In Ghazipur, the BJP has named Paras Nath Rai as its candidate. Rai is a close associate of Manoj Sinha, Lt. Governor Jammu and Kashmir. He will challenge Afzal Ansari of the Samajwadi Party (SP).

Sitting MP Vinod Sonkar will seek re-election from Kaushambhi for a third term.

Lok Sabha elections 2024 will be taking place in seven phases beginning from April 19. The second phase will be on April 26, third on May 7, fourth on May 13, fifth on May 20, sixth on May 25 and seventh and last on June 1.

With inputs from agencies

ALSO READ | BJP new list: Jaiveer Singh Thakur to take on Dimple Yadav in Mainpuri, SS Ahluwalia gets Asansol


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India