Sunday, May 26, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Business
  4. Banks closed on April 19: Bank holiday in THESE cities due to Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Check list

Banks closed on April 19: Bank holiday in THESE cities due to Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Check list

Ahead of the polls, states like Uttarakhand, Nagaland, and Tamil Nadu have declared special holidays to ensure citizens’ participation. States such as Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, and others have also announced bank holidays for April 19, 2024, in line with the elections.

Edited By: Nitin Kumar @Niitz1 New Delhi Published on: April 18, 2024 12:14 IST
Banks closed on April 19
Image Source : INDIA TV Banks closed on April 19: Bank holiday in THESE cities due to Lok Sabha Elections 2024.

As the Lok Sabha Election 2024 is set to kick off on April 19 and culminate with results announced on June 4, 2024, several cities will witness bank closures on the first day of polling. Several cities across India will observe bank closures, in alignment with the Reserve Bank of India’s (RBI) holiday calendar for the year. This measure is taken to ensure citizens’ participation in the electoral process without disruption to essential services.

Here are the key details regarding the bank holidays and election phases:

Bank closures on April 19

Cities Affected: According to an ET report, banks in Chennai, Dehradun, Itanagar, Jaipur, Kohima, Nagpur, and Shillong will remain closed on April 19, 2024. This closure aligns with various elections, including the Lok Sabha General Elections 2024, Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election 2024, and a Bye-Election to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from Vilavancode Constituency, Kanyakumari District.

Election phases and dates

Seven-phase schedule: The Lok Sabha Election 2024 will unfold in seven phases, starting from April 19 and continuing on April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1, 2024.

State declarations

Ahead of the elections, several states have made special provisions to facilitate citizens’ participation:

Uttarakhand: The Uttarakhand government has declared April 19 as a public holiday, anticipating the voting day for the nation’s Lok Sabha elections. This directive was issued by the Uttarakhand government’s General Administration Department.

Nagaland: The Home Department of Nagaland has announced paid time off for all employees in the state on Friday, April 19, 2024, to enable them to exercise their voting rights. This decision aligns with Section 135B of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Tamil Nadu: April 19 has been declared a public holiday by the Tamil Nadu government, coinciding with the general elections scheduled for all 39 Lok Sabha seats and the by-poll for the Vilavancode Assembly constituency.

States with April 19 elections

According to ET, states such as Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand have declared bank holidays for April 19, 2024, due to elections.

Also read | Google announces second major round of job cuts in 2024, tech giant says 'change is difficult'




Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Business