Sunday, December 03, 2023
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. WATCH | Suryakumar Yadav smashes four consecutive sixes off Cameron Green during India vs Australia 2nd ODI

WATCH | Suryakumar Yadav smashes four consecutive sixes off Cameron Green during India vs Australia 2nd ODI

Suryakumar Yadav became the only third cricketer after Zaheer Khan and Rohit Sharma to smash four consecutive sixes in an over in ODI history.

Sumeet Kavthale Written By: Sumeet Kavthale @sumeetkavthale New Delhi Updated on: September 25, 2023 2:32 IST
Suryakumar Yadav vs Australia in 2nd ODI
Image Source : GETTY Suryakumar Yadav vs Australia in 2nd ODI

India recorded their highest total against Australia in ODIs as they scored 399 runs for five in the second match at Indore's Holkar Cricket Stadium on Sunday, September 24. Shreyas Iyer and Shubma Gill registered brilliant tons but it was Surykumar Yadav's 72* off 37 balls knock that helped India post a 400-run target for the mighty Australians.

Suryakumar came to bat in the 41st over when India lost Ishan Kishan with 302 runs on the scorecard. Suryakumar burst into the life by smashing four consecutive sixes off pace all-rounder Cameron Green in the 44th over to stun the crowd in Indore. He smashed Green all over the stadium to display his six-hitting abilities once again.

Suryakumar recorded six sixes during his memorable knock which also helped him register his highest ODI score. India fell only 19 runs short of their highest-ever ODI total of 418 runs which came against West Indies in 2011 but managed to score their biggest against Australia. 

In terms of other records, India also surpassed the 3000-six mark in ODI history and became the first nation to achieve this remarkable fifty. A 200-run stand between Gill and Iyer also broke into a list of the top five biggest partnerships by Indian cricketers against Australia in ODIs.

India playing XI: Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (c & wk), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna

Australia playing XI: David Warner, Matthew Short, Steven Smith (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Spencer Johnson

Latest Cricket News

Read all Assembly Election Results 2023 Live on and Get the Latest English News and Updates on Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana