Saturday, December 02, 2023
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. IPL 2020: CSK openers Shane Watson & Faf du Plessis fire fifties in 100-plus opening stand vs KXIP

IPL 2020: CSK openers Shane Watson & Faf du Plessis fire fifties in 100-plus opening stand vs KXIP

The duo slam 17 boundaries and a six between them to score fifties while taking CSK past 100 in the process.

India TV Sports Desk Written by: India TV Sports Desk New Delhi Updated on: October 04, 2020 22:49 IST
faf du plessis shane watson
Image Source : IPLT20.COM

Faf du Plessis (left) and Shane Watson in Dubai on Sunday.

Chennai Super Kings are off to a dream start chasing 179-run target set by Kings XI Punjab in Dubai on Sunday. Their overseas opening duo Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis stitched an unbeaten opening 100-plus stand as CSK dugout could smell victory already. Both the batsmen reached their fifties in process with Watson to cross the milestone first with one six and two boundaries on the trot. Watson took 31 deliveries to hit his 20th IPL half-century.

Faf was next to reach the mark off just 33 deliveries in the 11th over.

The duo shot 17 boundaries and huge 101m six between them with Shane Watson smashing 10 of the boundaries and the six.

Chasing 179, CSK were off to a good start with Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis scoring 60 from the powerplays, 18 of which was fired by Faf in the last over from Chris Jordan. The run barrage was wide open from this point onwards as the batsman were selective with their target bowlers such as Jordan and young left-arm spinner Harpreet Brar.

The duo only grew in confidence from this point onwards as the run rate kept increasing as the next fifty runs of CSK came in just five overs after the powerplays.

Both the experienced batsman took a good measure of the toothless KXIP bowling attack with 15 boundaries and a six in the partnership while avoiding rash strokeplay. 

Latest Cricket News

Read all Assembly Election Results 2023 Live on and Get the Latest English News and Updates on Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana