Friday, May 24, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Mizoram
  4. Mizoram: Tongchanga resigns as CADC chairman, joins ZPM after leaving MNF

Mizoram: Tongchanga resigns as CADC chairman, joins ZPM after leaving MNF

Tongchangya's departure from MNF and subsequent involvement with ZPM mark significant political developments in Mizoram. The ZPM-led government aims to bring about new policies and governance in the state, heralding a change in the political landscape.

Edited By: Nitin Kumar @Niitz1 Aizawl Updated on: December 17, 2023 14:22 IST
Image Source : PTI/FILE PHOTO Aizawl: Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM) leader Lalduhoma arrives to take the oath as the Chief Minister of Mizoram.

In a political shift in Mizoram, the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) has successfully formed a new government, removing the Mizo National Front (MNF) from power. Lalduhoma, the leader of ZPM, has assumed the role of Mizoram's new Chief Minister. Concurrently, Kali Kumar Tongchangya, who recently joined ZPM after leaving MNF, submitted his resignation on Friday as the Chairman of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) in Mizoram. This information was confirmed by an official.

On December 8, Tongchangya, along with five BJP members of CADC, joined ZPM. He later resigned from his position as chairman of CADC. Tongchanga handed his resignation to Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati. Reports suggest that Tongchanga and other members are attempting to establish a ZPM-led council in CADC.

It's worth noting that in the 40-seat Mizoram Legislative Assembly, ZPM secured victory with 27 seats, while MNF won only 10 seats. In addition to this, the BJP holds two seats, and Congress won one.

ZPM emerges victorious in Mizoram elections, securing 27 seats out of 40

The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) has clinched a victory in the recently held Mizoram assembly elections, securing 27 seats out of the 40-member House. This outcome marks the ousting of the Mizo National Front (MNF), which won 10 seats, while the BJP and Congress claimed 2 and 1 seat(s) respectively, according to Election Commission officials.

Notable successes for ZPM include its Chief Ministerial face, Lalduhoma, who triumphed in the Serchhip constituency by defeating his MNF rival J Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng by 2,982 votes. Meanwhile, Chief Minister Zoramthanga of MNF faced defeat against ZPM's Lalthansanga by 2,101 votes. Subsequently, Zoramthanga tendered his resignation, submitting it to Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati.

Historical shift

This will be the first time since Mizoram's creation in 1987 that the state will be governed by a non-Congress and non-MNF government. The electoral setback for MNF extended to its ministers, with nine out of eleven ministers who contested the polls experiencing defeat. Prominent figures like Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia, Health Minister R Lalthangliana, and Rural Development Minister Laruatkima faced losses against ZPM candidates.

Lalduhoma, the 73-year-old ZPM chief, has a storied political journey. Initially contesting Mizoram assembly polls in 1984 on a Congress ticket, he later became an independent MP in 2018. Lalduhoma, with a background as an ex-IPS officer in charge of Indira Gandhi's security, is known for his involvement in the formation of ZPM.

ZPM working president K Sapdanga expressed the party's intent to stake a claim to form the government after holding a consultative meeting with newly elected MLAs and senior party leaders on Tuesday. ZPM secured victories in numerous constituencies, including Kolasib, Aizawl, Lunglei, and Serchhip, among others.

Also read | Corruption will have no place under new Mizoram govt: Governor


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Mizoram