Monday, April 22, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Karnataka
  4. Rajya Sabha Election 2024: BJP's ST Somashekhar cross-votes for Congress in Karnataka

Rajya Sabha Election 2024: BJP's ST Somashekhar cross-votes for Congress in Karnataka

Reacting strongly to Somashekar's action, the BJP declared its intention to take strict action against him. BJP chief whip Doddana Gowda emphasised that Somashekhar would face consequences for cross-voting.

Nitin Kumar Edited By: Nitin Kumar @Niitz1 Bengaluru Updated on: February 27, 2024 14:08 IST
Karnataka Rajya Sabha elections
Image Source : SOCIAL MEDIA Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister D K Shivakumar and BJP's MLA ST Somashekar.

In a significant development during the ongoing Rajya Sabha elections in Karnataka, BJP MLA ST Somashekar has reportedly cross-voted in favour of the Congress party, announced BJP Chief Whip in the State Assembly, Doddanagouda G. Patil. MLA ST Somashekar's decision to cast his vote for the Congress party has stunned the Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka. His unexpected move has raised eyebrows within political circles, especially during crucial elections.

Party's response

Reacting to the incident, BJP Chief Whip Doddanagouda G. Patil stated that the party would thoroughly investigate the matter, emphasising that strict action would be taken against the erring MLA. "It is confirmed that ST Somashekar has cross-voted. We are discussing what can be done and what action to take," he asserted.

Statement by ST Somashekar

Before casting his vote, ST Somashekar addressed reporters, expressing his intentions: "I will vote in favor of them who assure me and give confidence that they will give funds for the water and other management in my constituency."

Candidates in the fray

Five candidates are contesting for the four Rajya Sabha seats, including Ajay Maken, Syed Naseer Hussain, and G C Chandrasekhar from Congress, Narayansa Bandage from the BJP, and Kupendra Reddy from JD(S).

Seat distribution

With three Congress MPs and one BJP MP retiring in Karnataka, the outcome of the elections will maintain the status quo. The Congress holds a clear majority with 135 MLAs, ensuring the election of its three candidates, while the BJP, with 66 MLAs, can secure its main candidate's victory. Each candidate requires at least 45 votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat.

Confidence from parties

While Congress leaders Ramalinga Reddy and Rizwan Arshad exuded confidence in their candidates winning without cross-voting, BJP leader Pralhad Joshi expressed optimism about the party's prospects in the elections.

Also read | Rajya Sabha elections: Akhilesh Yadav's party chief whip Manoj Pandey resigns amid voting for 10 seats


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Karnataka