1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. IPL to be held in India entirely for the first time in an election year

IPL to be held in India entirely for the first time in an election year

Before 2019, the second and seventh season of the IPL was held in South Africa and UAE [half of the tournament] because of the general elections.

India TV Sports Desk Written by: India TV Sports Desk New Delhi Published on: March 19, 2019 19:05 IST
Image Source : BCCI

Picture used for representational purposes

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League will be the first edition in the history of the tournament when it will be held in India completely despite the general elections.

Before 2019, the cash-rich league was held in South Africa entirely in 2009 while half of the tournament was held in the United Arab Emirates in 2014. The second half of the tournament was held in India after the elections were over.

The delay in announcing the full schedule was because of the 2019 Lok-Sabha Elections which are set to clash with the mega-rich tournament and the inability for many centres to provide adequate security. 

However, the Indian board decided to hold the entire tournament in the country unlike in 2009 and 2014, when it was shifted to South Africa and UAE [first part] for the same reason.

In 2009, Deccan Chargers won the IPL by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final while Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Chennai Super Kings in 2014 to win their second IPL.

Earlier on Tuesday, the full schedule of the IPL 2019 was released on the tournament's official website iplt20.com only to be removed a few moments later. However, India TV Sports Desk saved the screenshot for you and if it is any hint of things to come, we can tell you that the final will be played on May 12. 

The tournament playoffs are scheduled from 7th to 10th May. There will be a total of 60 matches played at this year's tournament with each team playing one home and away fixture against every other team during the league stage. 

Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI] had earlier announced the schedule for only the first 17 games from March 23 to April 5. 

The first match will be played on March 23 in Chennai between current champions Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

In the first part, all teams are playing a minimum of four matches with the newly-christened Delhi Capitals and RCB playing five matches. 

Every team will play a minimum of two home and two away matches with DC playing three home matches, while RCB will play three away matches.

The schedule is balanced in terms of afternoon matches/weekend matches and travel. The board has factored the 2019 Lok Sabha elections dates/phases in the respective states and cities and clearance thereof.

The schedule of this year's edition has been released in parts by BCCI in view of the upcoming Lok Sabha polls that would be a staggered process in seven phases stretched across April and May. 

Earlier, the BCCI announced the schedule of the first 17 matches that will be played during the two-week period from March 23 to April 5 across the eight home venues of the respective franchises.

(With inputs from IANS)

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section