• Jagdish Thakor appointed as new president of Gujarat Congress, replacing Amit Chavda
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election result 2019: Here is what Stalin said after DMK's stellar performance in Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election result 2019: Here is what Stalin said after DMK's stellar performance in Tamil Nadu

These are first Lok Sabha elections when DMK patriarch Karunanidhi and former AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa are not at the helm of respective parties.

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Updated on: May 23, 2019 22:33 IST
Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election 2019 results
Image Source : FILE

DMK president M K Stalin

Polling in Tamil Nadu took place on April 18. All 39 seats in Tamil Nadu went to polls in phase 2.

DMK and AIADMK are principal political parties in Tamil Nadu. DMK is fighting alongside Congress while AIADMK has allied with the BJP. Currently, Tamil Nadu is ruled by AIADMK E Palanisami is the current Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

India TV-CNX Exit Poll has predicted that AIADMK is likely to lose 28 seats from 36 seats it won in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. DMK is expected to win 17 Lok Sabha seats while Congress and BJP are expected to win 6 and 2 seats respectively.

In addition to Lok Sabha seats, 18 seats in Tamil Nadu assembly are also up for grabs. These by-polls were necessitated because of disqualification of 18 MLAs after they shifted loyalty from AIADMK to TTV Dhinakaran's AMMK.

The 2019 Lok Sabha election was held in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha. The results are due today (23 May) after the counting. Average turnout in Lok Sabha Election 2019 was 67 per cent. This is highest ever in the history of Indian general elections. 2019 elections saw the highest recorded participation by women voters.

Legislative Assembly elections in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim were held simultaneously with the general election.

Latest India News

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election result 2019: DMK wave in the state, AIADMK leads on just 1 seat

Auto Refresh
  • 8:09 PM (IST)

    With folded hands, I accept resounding victory given by people of Tamil Nadu, says DMK's Stalin

    DMK president M K Stalin said that he is accepting the "resounding victory" given to DMK alliance by people of Tamil Nadu. He tweeted from his official Twitter handle


  • 2:57 PM (IST)

    DMK sweep: Is AIADMK-led state government in danger?

    Results of Lok Sabha election 2019 may have implications for Tamil Nadu state government as well. With DMK sweeping the state, it is possible that dissidence in AIADMK ranks will make the state government unstable. MLAs may switch loyalty and threaten E Palaniswamy government in the state.

  • 2:51 PM (IST)

    India TV-CNX Exit Poll prediction comes true

    India TV-CNX Exit Poll had predicted huge gains for DMK in Tamil Nadu. DMK has virtually swept the state with rival AIADMK leading on only one seat as of now.

  • 1:50 PM (IST)

    Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

    Tamil Nadu: Latest trends 
    Total seats: 38
    Trends available: 38
    Party Leads Results
    DMK 22
    Congress 8
    AIADMK 2
    CPI 2
    CPI(M) 2
    IUML 1 
    PMK  1 
  • 1:14 PM (IST)

    Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

    According to trends, the DMK-alliance is leading in 36 of Tamil Nadu’s 39 Lok Sabha seats.