1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Election News
  4. Meghalaya Assembly Election Results: As it happened

Meghalaya Assembly Election Results: As it happened

Polling for 59 Assembly seats, out of a total of 60, was held on February 27. A Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in an IED blast, which resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat.

Written by: India TV News Desk, New Delhi [ Updated: March 03, 2018 22:19 IST ]
Meghalaya elects hung Assembly, Congress emerges as single
Meghalaya elects hung Assembly, Congress emerges as single largest party with 21 seats

Meghalaya threw up a hung Assembly today with the ruling Congress emerging as the single largest party after winning 21 seats out the 59 that went to polls last month.

The National People's Party (NPP) was at the second position with 19 seats, according to the results. The BJP, which contested 47 seats, could win only two.

Polling for 59 Assembly seats, out of a total of 60, was held on February 27. A Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in an IED blast, which resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat.

To form government in Meghalaya at the present juncture, a party or coalition requires a minimum of 30 seats.

The Congress had no pre-poll arrangement with any party.

The BJP, which made a serious bid to dethrone the 10-year-old Mukul Sangma government, also had no seat-sharing arrangement with any party. However, the NPP is an ally of the saffron party at the Centre and in Manipur.

All eyes are now on the regional parties and independent candidates.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) has won six seats followed by the People's Democratic Front (PDF) with four and the Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP)with two. The Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement and the Nationalist Congress Party won one seat each. The UDF and the HSPDP have a pre-polls alliance. Independent candidates won three seats.

As it happened:

Total: 59 seats -- Bharatiya Janata Party: 2 | Congress: 21 | Nationalist Congress Party: 1 | Hill State People’s Democratic Party: 2 | National People's Party: 19 | United Democratic Party: 6 | Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement: 1 | People's Democratic Front: 4 | Independent: 3 

6 pm: Meghalaya elects a hung Assembly with ruling Congress emerging as single largest party with 21 seats: EC

5:10 pm: The encouraging performance of BJP in Meghalaya is a reflection of people’s commitment to uproot the politics of appeasement and a leap towards PM Modi's politics of development. I congratulate entire BJP Meghalaya unit for this remarkable performance: Amit Shah

# On forming next government, Mukul Sangma says, "I would like to keep my cards close to the chest."

# The results were not on expected lines, but I am still looking forward: Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma

2:30 pm: BJP hints at seeking help from regional players or even entering into a post poll alliance with other political parties in order to form government in Meghalaya. 

2:15 pm: Meghalaya Roads Minister and Congress candidate Martin D Danggo won from Ranikor seat defeating his nearest UDF rival Pius Marwein by over 1500 votes. 

2:00 pm: NPP candidate Rakkam A Sangma won from Rongara Siju seat defeating his nearest Independent rival Roful S Marak by over 1000 votes.

1:40 pm: The National People's Party (NPP) exuded confidence and said that their party would form the next government in Meghalaya with the help of other like-minded parties. 

1:15 pm: Congress leading on 20 seats, NPP on 19, BJP on 2, Others 18

12:12 pm: Meghalaya PWD minister and Congress candidate Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh wins from East Shillong constituency defeating her nearest BJP rival Neil Antonio War by over 5,000 votes. 

12:12 pm: Meghalaya Chief Minister and Congress candidate Mukul Sangma wins from both Ampati and Songsok constituencies, says Election Commission sources.

12:07 pm: In Meghalaya, the vote is basically against the Congress if you see the performance of other parties. Leaders will discuss if there can be possibility of a post-poll alliance, says BJP Meghalaya incharge Nalin Kohli

11:50 am: In Meghalaya a divided result is a possibility, we will see that a non-Congress Govt is formed there. Himanta Biswa Sarma ji is leaving for Meghalaya shortly, says BJP's Ram Madhav

11:21 am: The state is likely to see a hung assembly in case of no absolute majority to any party.

11:20 am: Congress leading on 21, NPP on 14, BJP on 6, Others 18

11:00 am: After three hours of counting, Congress is leading on 23 seats while NPP is leading on 14, BJP on 5, Others 17

10:45 am: Congress leading on 26, NPP on 12, BJP on 4, Others 17

10:40 am: Congress leading on 24, NPP on 14, BJP on 3, Others 18

10:14 am: Congress continues to lead on 24 seats, NPP on 10, BJP on 5, Others 18

09:56 am: Congress leading on 24 seats, NPP on 10, BJP on 5, Others on 12 

09:45 am: Three senior Congress leaders, Ahmed Patel, Kamalnath and Mukul Wasnik, leave for Shillong.

09:40 am: Congress leading on 22, NPP on 10, BJP on 4, Others 10

09:36 am: Congress leading on 22, NPP on 9, BJP on 3, Others 9

09:13 am: NPP now leading on 9, Congress on 15, BJP on 5, Others on 8

09:05 am: NPP now leading on 11, Congress on 10, BJP on 5

08:52 am: NPP leading on 11 seats, Congress on 7, BJP on 5

08:51 am: Meanwhile, huge crowd gathered at Shillong Polo ground where people can see counting trends through a projector.

08:35 am: BJP leading on 3 seats, Congress on 3 seats, UDP on 2 

08:16 am: As per early trends, Mukul Sangma ahead on his seat.

08:00 am: Counting of votes for Meghalaya Assembly election result begins.

07:36 am: 

07:19 am: We will wait for the verdict of the people. People want change in Mawsynram, says HM Shangpliang, Congress candidate from Mawsynram constituency in Meghalaya

07:13 am: 

07:01 am: In Meghalaya, the Congress fielded 59 candidates, while the BJP put up nominees in 47 constituencies.

07:00 am: A total of 59 of 60 Assembly seats in Meghalaya went to the polls on February 27.

06:56 am: The CVoter exit poll has predicted the ruling Congress suffering some setback with its tally coming down to 13-19 from 29 while the BJP is set to win 4-8 seats and around 16.5 per cent of vote share. It said the local National People's Party (NPP) may get 17-23 seats.

06:45 am: In Meghalaya, the BJP has emerged as the main contender.

06:40 am: For the first time, Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is contesting from two seats.

06:35 am: As per the Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkonger, 13 counting centres will be set up in the state. 

06:32 am: Polling in Williamnagar constituency of the state was countermanded following the death of Nationalist Congress Party candidate Jonathone Nengminza Sangma in an IED blast.

06:30 am: In 2013, the BJP had badly lost all 13 seats it contested with a vote share of 6.2 per cent. The NPP had won only two seats out of 32 it contested.

06:29 am: The tenure of Meghalaya Assembly will end on March 6.

Also read: Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Election Results LIVE Updates: Will BJP take all three northeast states? 

Also read: Nagaland Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE Updates: Counting begins, former CM Neiphiu Rio declared unopposed winner

Check constituency wise results here


Write a comment

Live Scorecard