Saturday, December 09, 2023
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. ICC World Cup 2023 prize money announced, winner to bag INR 33 crore

ICC World Cup 2023 prize money announced, winner to bag INR 33 crore

ICC announces USD $10 million total prize pool for the World Cup 2023 in India where the winner will take $4 million home and the runner-up will get $2 million.

Sumeet Kavthale Written By: Sumeet Kavthale @sumeetkavthale New Delhi Updated on: September 22, 2023 19:04 IST
ICC World Cup Trophy 2023
Image Source : GETTY ICC World Cup Trophy 2023

The ICC announced the prize money for their upcoming mega event ICC World Cup 2023 in India on Friday, September 22. ICC revealed a USD $10 million total prize pool for the mega tournament starting on October 5 where the winner will receive USD $4 million (INR 33 crore) and a runner-up will bag USD $2 million.

Notably, prize money for the 2023 edition of the World Cup remains the same compared to the 2019 edition. In the group stages, the winner of each match will get $40,000 prize money, making it a total of $1.8 million for 45 matches. The top four teams will progress to the semi-final round while the eliminated six teams will be rewarded with $100,000 each in prize money. Losing semi-finalist teams will receive $800,000 each for making the last four.

Stage Prize Total Prize
Winner $4,000,000  $4,000,000
Runner-up $2,000,000 $2,000,000
Losing semi-finalists (2) $800,000 $1,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6) $100,000 $600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45) $40,000 $1,8000,000
Total   $10,000,000

A total of ten teams will clash in 48 matches across 10 different venues with India, Australia and England entering as favourites. The current champions England will take on last edition's runner-up New Zealand in the opening match at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium on October 5. India will clash with Australia in their opening game in the tournament at Chennai's MA Chidambaram Stadium on October 8 and will face rivals Pakistan in Ahmedabad on October 14.

India will play Netherlands at Bengaluru's M Chinnaswamy Stadium on November 12 in the last group stage game. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-final round fixtures and the final will be played in Ahmedabad on November 19.

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section