Saturday, December 09, 2023
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Explainers
  4. BJP includes Tomar, Patel and Vijayvargiya in MP second list: Is it a message to Shivraj Singh Chouhan?

BJP includes Tomar, Patel and Vijayvargiya in MP second list: Is it a message to Shivraj Singh Chouhan?

The BJP has released its second list of candidates including Lok Sabha members, union ministers, and other key leaders for the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

Shashwat Bhandari Written By: Shashwat Bhandari @ShashBhandari New Delhi Updated on: September 26, 2023 13:33 IST
PM Modi waves at supporters during the Karyakarta
Image Source : PTI PM Modi waves at supporters during the Karyakarta Mahakumbh, in Bhopal. Union Ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia and Narendra Singh Tomar, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and State BJP President VD Sharma are also seen. (Representational image)

Madhya Pradesh assembly elections 2023: Seven Lok Sabha MPs including three Union Ministers and national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya have been named in the second list of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for Madhya Pradesh assembly elections 2023.

Out of 230 candidates, the party has released 76 candidates so far for the upcoming polls. However, the BJP has not yet announced incumbent Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan's seat.

So by fielding key leaders as candidates in the assembly elections, is the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trying to fulfill the aspirations of other regional leaders or is it a signal to Shivraj Singh Chouhan that the race for Chief Minister's face is wide open?

Key takeaways from BJP's second list for Madhya Pradesh elections

  • BJP released its second list of 39 candidates on Monday. The party named Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel, and Phaggan Singh Kulaste, and Lok Sabha members including Rakesh Singh, Ganesh Singh, Riti Pathak, and Uday Pratap Singh.
  • Kailash Vijayvargiya, BJP's national general secretary, has been fielded from the Indore-1 assembly constituency.
  • Union minister Tomar has been fielded from the Dimani constituency, Patel from Narsingpur, and Kulaste from the Niwas seat.
  • The majority of candidates named in the second list have been winning their Lok Sabha seats for multiple terms.
  • The assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh are likely to be held in November-December. The party released its first list of 39 candidates last month.

By placing key leaders into the election field, the party is trying to solidify its candidates portfolios in the upcoming elections. But besides this, by naming key leaders, is the party trying to indicate that the race for Chief Minister's face is wide open, or is it just about fulfilling the expectations of the regional leaders? 

Well, there has been no official word from the party on its chief minister's candidate so far.

The party is yet to announce all the candidates for the upcoming elections including the seat of Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

The incumbent Shivraj Sing Chouhan is the party's longest-serving chief minister.  

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election Result 2018

In the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress had won 114 seats, while the BJP got 109.

However, the Congress government fell after many MLAs under the leadership of Jyotiraditya Scindia, who later became a Union minister, joined the BJP.

The BJP returned to power in March 2020 with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as chief minister for a fresh term. The BJP's current strength in the assembly is 127.

ALSO READ | Why is govt linking census, delimitation process with Women's Reservation Bill implementation? Explained

ALSO READ | What will be the impact of New Delhi-Ottawa rift on Indian students in Canada?

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Explainers