1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election News
  4. Lok News
  5. Lok Sabha Elections 2019: All you need to know about elections in Meghalaya

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: All you need to know about elections in Meghalaya

Political parties in Meghalaya preparing for single-phase election for two Lok Sabha seats - Shillong and Tura - on April 11

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Updated on: March 25, 2019 14:09 IST
Representational image
Image Source : PTI

Representational image

India is heading for its 17 Lok Sabha Elections in 2019. General elections 2019 will be held in 7 phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Over 850 million voters are likely to vote this year and decide the fate of the country for the next five years. Lok Sabha Polls which takes place after every five years is considered as the biggest elections in the world. In our election watch today, the focus is on Meghalaya.

Names of Lok Sabha constituencies in Meghalaya:

Meghalaya has two Lok Sabha constituencies: Shillong and Tura.

The present status of constituencies in Meghalaya:

Following the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress holds 1 seat in the state. The other seat is held by the National People’s Party.

Meghalaya’s two parliamentary seats will go to polls in a single phase.

Date of polling: April 11

Date of counting: May 23

Total no. of Lok Sabha seats in the state: 2

Present Lok Sabha seat distribution:

Indian National Congress (INA) - 1

National Peoples Party (NPP) - 1

Assembly Constituencies: 60

Current Chief Minister: Conrad Sangma

Ruling Party: National People's Party

ALSO READ:  Meghalaya: Lok Sabha elections in a single phase, check details here

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Write a comment