1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. IND vs AUS WTC Final: Travis Head, Steve Smith help Australia boss opening day of summit clash

IND vs AUS WTC Final: Travis Head, Steve Smith help Australia boss opening day of summit clash

IND vs AUS WTC Final: Travis Head proved out to be the man for Australia with the bat on Day 1 after losing the toss and being forced to bat first. Australia ended opening day on a great wtcnote.

Varun Malik Written By: Varun Malik New Delhi Updated on: June 07, 2023 23:30 IST
Travis Head WTC FInal
Image Source : PTI Travis Head's thunderous ton takes Australia to 327


IND vs AUS WTC Final: The first day of the World Test Championship 2023 final ended with Australia dominating the opening day of the summit clash. Travis Head and Steve Smith led Australia's charge to a massive 327-run total on the board for the loss of just 3 wickets as the Indian bowlers were made to grind hard. Despite winning the toss, the Men in Blue pretty much look on the back foot, especially after that huge 251-run partnership at a quick pace.

Under overcast conditions and green surface at The Oval, India captain Rohit Sharma opted to bowl after winning the toss. The move seemed good and when India removed Usman Khawaja early, the fans eagerly sat to see the fall of the Aussies. But that did not materialise. David Warner played the hard opening session and made 43 before falling in the dying moments of the first session to keep Australia at 73/2. Only 1 wicket fell thereafter and that was of Marnus Labuschagne, who departed quickly after Lunch.

Travis Head made his way into the middle and then into the minds of Indians as he counter-attacked the bowlers with his free-stroke playing. He got to his fifty in 60 balls and then raced to the first ton ever in a WTC final in 105 balls. Head remains unbeaten on 146 from 156 balls and has hit 22 fours and a six. Meanwhile, Smith is a little short of his ton and is currently on 95 from 227 deliveries including 14 boundaries. 

Meanwhile, for India Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur scalped a wicket each. Umesh Yadav was taken to runs in his 14 overs and did not take a wicket. Ravindra Jadeja also failed to enter the wicket column as he went for 48 in his 14 overs.

AUS batters: Warner 43 from 60 balls, Khawaja 0 from 10, Labuschagne 26 off 62, Smith 95* off 227, Head 146* off 156.

IND bowlers: Shami 1/77, Siraj 1/67, Umesh 0/54, Shardul 1/75, Jadeja 0/48

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section