1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Shubman Gill given out controversially in WTC Final: 'Such shameful act Cameron Green & Aus,' netizens react

Shubman Gill given out controversially in WTC Final: 'Such shameful act Cameron Green & Aus,' netizens react

Shubman Gill made a positive start to the chase in the final of the World Test Championship. India are chasing 444 runs against Australia.

India TV Sports Desk Written By: India TV Sports Desk New Delhi Updated on: June 10, 2023 20:57 IST
Shubman Gill, IND vs AUS WTC Final, Cameron Green catch
Image Source : GETTY Cameron Green makes brilliant effort to dismiss Shubman Gill

India began their chase in the final of the World Test Championship against Australia on a positive note. Openers Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma made a strong start in their pursuit of a daunting target of 444 in the WTC Final against Australia. The Aussies dominated the first three ininngs and declared on 270 after losing 8 wickets, setting a record target infront of the Indians. However, both Rohit and Gill smoked a few boundaries and provided a fine start in the second session of Day 4. But Gill was soon given out in a controversial fashion after a spectacular effort from Cameron Green.

The Aussie all-rounder Green showcased another blinder of an effort in the second innings of the game at Gully. But the catch seemed doubtful to be given out or not out as Green's fingers were clearly touching the ground. The only question was whether Green grounded the ball during his effort or not. The on-field umpires consulted the TV umpire, who took a look from a few angles and then decided to call it out. Both Gill and Rohit were left baffled and so are the users on social media.

Take a look at a few Tweets:

The Indian openers made a strong start in pursuit of a record total at The Oval. Both the players collected a few fours in second session of Day 4 and were set to remain unbeaten at Tea. With only a few minutes left in Tea to be taken, Boland found one ball to deceive Gill. He got a shoulder of his bat on the ball and Green dived on his left to take the catch. Meanwhile, there was no soft-signal used in the decision as it was scrapped by ICC in the previous month. With June 1st, the soft signal rule was taken by the International Board.

The major change involved the soft signal being scrapped, with umpires no longer required to give a soft signal when referring decisions to the TV umpire," ICC said in a statement.

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section