1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. MIW vs RCBW: Harmanpreet's Mumbai end league stage with win, beat Bangalore by 4 wickets

MIW vs RCBW: Harmanpreet's Mumbai end league stage with win, beat Bangalore by 4 wickets

MIW vs RCBW: Mumbai Indians defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 4 wickets in their group stage final match of the WPL 2023.

Varun Malik Written By: Varun Malik New Delhi Updated on: March 21, 2023 19:27 IST
Mumbai beat Bangalore
Image Source : PTI Mumbai beat Bangalore

MIW vs RCBW: Harmanpreet Kaur's Mumbai Indians on Tuesday ended their league stage with a win over Smriti Mandhana's Royal Challengers Bangalore. The MIW team defeated the RCBW side on bowling assisting DY Patil Sports Academy by 4 wickets to end the league stage with 6 wins from 8 games. With this win, they have taken the Number 1 spot in the points table back from Delhi.

Batting first, the Bangalore side managed to get only 125 on board with Richa Ghosh providing a late assault to an otherwise cautious batting from Mandhana's team. She remained the joint-top scorer for her side with 29 runs along with Elyyse Perry. Mandhana scored 24 off 25 as she got a bit of start but could not carry it on. Amelia Kerr starred for the MIW side as she picked up 3 wickets.

Coming out to chase, MIW took an aggressive approach as they needed a fiery show to get a better NRR than that of table toppers Delhi. Matthews made 24 off 17, while Yastika scored 30 from 26 balls. Nat Sciver and Harmanpreet could not contribute much but Amelia Kerr helped the side cross the line in the 17th over with 4 wickets in hand. The Bangalore side did get some wickets with Kanika Ahuja being the pick of the bowlers. She scalped 2 wickets in 1 over for 5 runs.

Mumbai Indians have gone on top of the points table with 6 wins from 8 games and have 12 points. Delhi Capitals, who face UP Warriorz in the last match of the league stage have a chance to snatch that place from Mumbai if they beat UP Warriorz in the evening meeting. 

MIW's Playing XI:

Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amelia Kerr, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque

RCBW's Playing XI:

Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Richa Ghosh (wk), Kanika Ahuja, Shreyanka Patil, Disha Kasat, Megan Schutt, Asha Shobana, Preeti Bose

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section