India vs New Zealand 2019
  1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. India vs Australia: After a dropped catch and a second ball duck, Ambati Rayudu now reported for suspect bowling action

India vs Australia: After a dropped catch and a second ball duck, Ambati Rayudu now reported for suspect bowling action Read In Hindi

Indians wouldn't be too concerned though as the No.4 batsman is only a part-time bowler and has taken just three wickets from 46 ODIs.

Written by: India TV Sports Desk, New Delhi [ Updated: January 13, 2019 16:15 IST ]
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

Rayudu at a net session.

Indian batsman and part-time off-spinner Ambati Rayudu has been reported with a suspect bowling action during the first ODI against Australia in Sydney, the ICC said on Sunday.

Rayudu bowled only two overs in the game on Saturday, conceding 13 runs.

"The match officials' report, which was handed over to the India team management, cited concerns about the legality of the 33-year-old off-spinner's bowling action," said the ICC in a statement.

However, Rayudu can still bowl if the need arises.

"Rayudu's bowling action will now be scrutinised further under the ICC process relating to suspected illegal bowling actions reported in Tests, ODIs and T20Is.

"He is required to undergo testing within 14 days, and, during this period, Rayudu is permitted to continue bowling in international cricket until the results of the testing are known," the statement added.

Rayudu has only bowled 20.1 overs in his 46-ODI old career, taking three wickets at an average of 41.33 and economy rate of 6.14. He has not bowled in the six T20s he has featured in.

He also had a forgettable outing with the bat on Saturday and was out for a second-ball duck.

Rayudu had retired from first-class cricket in November to focus on the limited overs game.

It sums up a chastening day for Rayudu and his team with the player dropping a catch on the boundary before being dismissed for a second ball duck when India already had lost two batsmen at just 4 runs. His subsequent decision to review the umpire's verdict of OUT also meant that India burnt the sole review and couldn't use it when MS Dhoni was given LBW on a ball that had pitched out of leg-stump.

(With PTI inputs)

Write a comment

Live Scorecard