1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Uttar Pradesh
  4. UP MLC bypolls results: BJP's winning streak continues, bags two MLC seats in byelection

UP MLC bypolls results: BJP's winning streak continues, bags two MLC seats in byelection

UP MLC bypolls: The BJP had fielded Manvendra Singh and Padamsen Chowdhary while Ram Jatan Rajbhar and Ramkaran Nirmal are contesting from the Samajwadi Party.

Reported By : Vishal Singh Edited By : Raju Kumar
Published on: May 29, 2023 19:42 IST
BJP bags two more MLC seats in UP
Image Source : PTI BJP bags two more MLC seats in UP

UP MLC bypolls: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday won two MLC seats in bypoll in Uttar Pradesh. In both the seats, BJP defeated Samajwadi Party candidates. BJP had fielded Manvendra Singh and Padamsen Chowdhary as its candidates in the bypoll. BJP candidate Padamsen Chowdhary got 279 votes, while SP leader Ramkaran received 116 votes. In the second seat, BJP's Manvendra Singh bagged 280 votes and SP's Ramjatan-116 votes. 

The bypoll to the two seats were necessitated after the resignation of Laxman Acharya and the death of Banwari Lal Dohre. The tenure of Acharya, who was made the Governor of Sikkim, was to last till January 2027 while Dohre's term was to expire in July 2028.

P Rajbhar and Raja Bhaiya's party voted for BJP

Omprakash Rajbhar and Raja Bhaiya's party MLAs voted for Bharatiya Janata Party candidates in the MLC by-elections. On the other hand, Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party abstained from these by-elections. 

396 MLAs cast votes in bypoll 

As many as 396 MLAs on Monday cast their votes in the bypoll to two vacant seats of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for which both the ruling BJP and the Samajwadi Party have fielded candidates. According to UP Assembly sources, seven MLAs, including two from the Congress, did not vote in the by-election.

"As many as 396 MLAs cast their votes in the by-election held on Monday. The seven MLAs who could not cast their votes included three jailed MLAs -- Abbas Ansari (Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party), Irfan Solanki and Ramakant Yadav (both from Samajwadi Party). Besides, two Congress MLAs, one BSP and one SP MLA (Manoj Paras) did not cast their votes," a source told PTI.

Earlier, voting for the by-election to two vacant seats of the Legislative Council began in Lucknow at 9 am and continued till 4 pm.

UP Congress chief Brijlal Khabri told PTI, "A decision was taken by the party not to vote for any of the candidates in the MLC bypoll, and hence both the legislators did not cast their votes."

The two Congress MLAs are Aradhana Mishra and Virendra Chaudhary. The lone BSP MLA Uma Shankar Singh, who did not cast his vote, said, "I could not reach the polling centre to vote in the bypoll." Based on its strength in the Legislative Assembly, the BJP is comfortably placed to secure victory for both its candidates.

An Assembly Secretariat official said Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Finance Minister Suresh Khanna were among those who cast their votes in the morning.

The notification for the bypoll was issued on May 11 with May 18 the last day to file nominations. Only members of the legislative assembly are eligible to vote in the legislative council elections. The BJP has 255 MLAs in the 403-member assembly while allies Apna Dal (Sonelal) has 13 and the NISHAD Party six. The Samajwadi Party has 109 MLAs and its ally the Rashtriya Lok Dal has nine. The Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party has six MLAs, the Congress and the Jansatta Dal (Loktantrik) have two each and the Bahujan Samaj Party has one.

(With PTI input)

Also read- When Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw taught skills related to Vande Bharat Train to Assam CM Sarma- WATCH

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Uttar Pradesh