Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. ICC team's rankings: India extend lead at top, England trail further

ICC team's rankings: India extend lead at top, England trail further

ICC team's rankings: The Indian team defeated the Australian side in a three-match T20I series to extend their lead at the top of the T20I rankings. England trails further after losing to Pakistan.

Varun Malik Written By: Varun Malik New Delhi Updated on: September 26, 2022 23:08 IST
India, IND vs AUS
Image Source : ICC India extend lead.

ICC team rankings: The Indian cricket team extended its lead on the top spot of the MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings after defeating the Australian side by 2-1 in the T20I series at home. India had 267 ratings earlier but in the recently released rankings, India has scaled another rating point to extend its lead from second place England. The English team has 261 ratings and trails by 7 points.

England lost the fourth T20I against Pakistan on Sunday which led to the Indian team widening the gap for the top spot. Followed by England, South Africa and Pakistan are tied in the third spot with 258 rating points, while New Zealand sits in fifth place.

However, Pakistan could pip England and rise to the second if they beat the Moeen Ali-led side in the remaining three fixtures. England will also maintain its second spot if they win one of the remaining three matches. The series is currently tied with 2-2 after the Babar Azam-led side managed a narrow win on Sunday.

Also, Australia lost one rating point after India defeated the reigning World Champions in Hyderabad in another last-over thriller. The Aaron Finch side now has 25 rating points, two less than New Zealand and nine more than seventh-placed West Indies. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan complete the top 10 with 237, 224 and 219 points, respectively.

ALSO READ I IND vs AUS 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma admits bowling needs to be looked upon, backs Harshal and Bhuvneshwar

India will now take on South Africa in a three-match T20I series before flying to Australia to stage their challenge for the fabled T20 World Cup. The South African team has landed in India and the series is set to be kicked off on 28th September. 

India's T20I squad for the South Africa series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Shami, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah

Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section