• Odisha CM elected BJD president for 8th term

    Odisha CM elected BJD president for 8th term

    Politics | February 26, 2020 12:02 IST

    Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has been re-elected as the President of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) for the eighth consecutive term on Wednesday.

  • Rajashree Mallick

    A family person at heart, 1st time MP Rajashree bats for her people

    India | June 30, 2019 15:09 IST

    One of the 78 women Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha (a record representation), the transition for Rajashree Mallick of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) from being a pathologist to a public representative has been smooth.

  • Rajya Sabha by-poll: Congress alleges BJP-BJD pact in

    Rajya Sabha by-poll: Congress alleges BJP-BJD pact in Odisha

    India | June 26, 2019 18:20 IST

    The nomination of former IAS officer Ashwini Vaishnaw for the Rajya Sabha by-election from the state resonated in the Odisha Assembly on Wednesday as the Congress demanded a statement from Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik over his alleged involvement in mining and land allotment scams.

  • BJD candidates & BJP nominee file papers for Rajya Sabha

    BJD candidates, BJP nominee file papers for Rajya Sabha bypoll

    India | June 24, 2019 18:52 IST

    Two ruling Biju Janata Dal candidates and one BJP nominee on Monday filed their nomination papers for the by-election to the three vacant Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha.

  • Odisha governor invites Naveen Patnaik after he stakes claim

    Odisha governor invites Patnaik to form govt, swearing ceremony on May 29

    India | May 26, 2019 16:18 IST

    Patnaik called on the Governor after he was elected as the leader of BJD's legislature party for the fifth time in a row and furnished the list of 112 elected party MLAs.

  • Post BJD win, Naveen Patnaik is all set to resume office

    Naveen Patnaik unanimously elected leader of BJD

    India | May 26, 2019 16:16 IST

    The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to be held on May 29 at the Exhibition Ground. In a stellar performance in the recently concluded polls in Odisha, the BJD has won 112 of 146 Assembly seats.

  • Out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats, the BJD had fielded seven

    BJD's move to field women candidates in LS pays off

    India | May 24, 2019 18:43 IST

    Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik's historic move to reserve 33 per cent seats for women in the Lok Sabha has brought rich dividends for the party.

  • Map of  Odisha

    Odisha: Lok Sabha elections in four phases, check details here

    March 12, 2019 7:13 IST

    The Lok Sabha elections in Odisha will be held in four phases as announced by the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on Sunday.

  • lok sabha okays land bill amid opposition s protest

    Lok Sabha okays land bill amid opposition's protest

    Politics | March 11, 2015 7:06 IST

    New Delhi:  The Lok Sabha here on Tuesday passed the contentious land acquisition bill amid a walkout by opposition parties even as the government moved nine amendments to address concerns raised by farmers.Shiv Sena, an

  • case against bjd leader over comment on biju memorial

    Case against BJD leader over comment on Biju memorial

    Politics | January 04, 2015 22:48 IST

    Bhubaneswar: A police complaint was filed Sunday against Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Prasanna Patsani in Puri for his comment on a court order on demolition of a memorial of former Odisha chief minister Biju

  • biju janata dal to keep equi distance from congress bjp

    Biju Janata Dal to keep equi-distance from Congress , BJP

    Politics | November 17, 2014 21:25 IST

    Bhubaneswar: While keeping a watch on the erstwhile Janata Parivar members, Biju Janata Dal president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today asked his party MPs in Lok Sabha to maintain equi-distance from both Congress

  • bjd leads in odisha lok sabha by election

    BJD leads in Odisha Lok Sabha by-election

    Politics | October 19, 2014 10:21 IST

    Bhubaneswar: Odisha's ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Sunday took early lead in by-election to the Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat.BJD's Pratyusha Rajeswari had secured over 80,000 votes and was ahead of BJP's Rudra Madhav Ray and

  • bjd expels senior leader prafulla chandra ghadai for anti

    BJD expels senior leader Prafulla Chandra Ghadai for anti-party activities

    Politics | September 21, 2014 12:04 IST

    Bhubaneswar: Odisha's ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Saturday expelled senior leader and former state finance minister Prafulla Chandra Ghadai for anti-party activities."Prafulla Chandra Ghadai has been expelled from the party for anti-party activities with immediate

  • congress in crisis leadership challenged

    Congress in crisis: Leadership challenged

    Politics | July 27, 2014 14:16 IST

    New Delhi: It has not been an easy time for the Congress since it went down to its lowest tally in the Lok Sabha elections two months back. While the party is witnessing internecine battles

  • no inter linking projects in states not keen uma bharti

    No inter-linking projects in states not keen: Uma Bharti

    Politics | July 22, 2014 11:22 IST

    New Delhi: Water Resources Minister Uma Bharti Monday said river inter-linking projects will not be undertaken in states opposed to them and there will be justice with every state in water projects.Replying to debate on

  • naveen patnaik set to be odisha cm for the fourth term

    Naveen Patnaik set to be Odisha CM for the fourth term

    India | May 18, 2014 16:28 IST

    Bhubaneswar: BJD president Naveen Patnaik, who steered Biju Janata Dal to a landslide victory in the assembly polls in Odisha, is set to become chief minister for the fourth consecutive term as he was unanimously

  • no invite to join nda bjd

    No invite to join NDA: BJD

    India | May 16, 2014 12:24 IST

    Bhubhaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD), whicH looks to sweep Lok Sabha polls in Odisha, today said that it has not received any invite to join the BJP-led NDA governmentat the Centre."There is no occasion for

  • repoll in nine odisha polling stations april 25

    Repoll in nine Odisha polling stations April 25

    Politics | April 23, 2014 11:24 IST

    Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission Tuesday ordered repolling in nine polling stations in Odisha April 25 after allegations of rigging and other irregularities during the April 17 polling in the state.Repolling will be held in six

  • bjd sacrificing commoners for few businessmen rahul

    BJD sacrificing commoners for few businessmen: Rahul

    Politics | April 14, 2014 16:25 IST

    Bhubaneswar: Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi Monday accused Odisha's ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) of benefiting a few industries and sacrificing the interests of the common people.Addressing an election rally in Jagatsinghpur, about 80 km

  • odisha shutdown to protest central neglect

    Odisha shutdown to protest 'central neglect'

    India | April 20, 2013 23:40 IST

    Bhubaneswar, Apr 20:  Odisha's ruling Biju Janata Dal Saturday called for a 12-hour state wide shutdown on April 26 to protest the alleged central neglect to the state by the Congress-led central government.Accusing the central

Read More