1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Profile

Ipl 260x260 image

The Indian Premier League (IPL), officially called the Vivo Indian Premier League, is a glitzy and glamorous professional Twenty20 Cricket league in India which started in 2008. There are eight teams representing eight different Indian cities, namely Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and was a brainchild of Lalit Modi. The league, in its 10 years of existence, developed into the world's biggest and the richest T20 league. IPL also has an exclusive window in International Cricket Council's Future Tours Programme. The format of the league is divided into two halves - Round Robin and Qualifiers. Each of the eight teams will play each other twice in a home and away round robin format in the league phase. After the end of the league phase, the top two teams from the league phase will play against each other in 1st Qualifier for a place in the final. However, the team which loses in the 1st Qualifier will get another chance for the IPL by playing the second qualifying match (Winner of the Eliminator match between third and fourth place teams). The winner of the second qualifier will play the final match against the winner of the first qualifier.

read more


Sourav Ganguly to chair BCCI IPL Governing Council Meeting over coronavirus

Sports | Mar 14, 2020, 02:48 PM IST

BCCI President, Sourav Ganguly, IPL Chairman Brijesh Patel, BCCI Treasurer Arun Dhumal and BCCI CEO Rahul Johri arrived at BCCI headquarters to attend the IPL Governing Council Meeting over coronavirus.

BCCI suspends IPL 2020 till April 15 amid coronavirus outbreak

Cricket Ki Baat | Mar 16, 2020, 11:40 AM IST

The BCCI has decided to postpone the start of the Indian Premier League to April 15 due to the spread of the deadly COVID-19.

Coronavirus: MEA advises against hosting of IPL, says organisers will take final call

News | Mar 13, 2020, 03:43 PM IST

On being asked on the effect of coronavirus and lots of players coming from abroad during IPL event, MEA Additional Secretary, Dammu Ravi, on Thursday stated that the organisers will decide the IPL event go ahead or not.

Mumbai Indians return home to rapturous welcome after 4th IPL title

Sports | May 13, 2019, 11:04 PM IST

Thousands of fans a.k.a 'Paltans' greeted 2019 IPL winners Mumbai Indians at Ambani residence, Antilia in South Mumbai, to celebrate MI's win over Chennai Super Kings in the IPL final in Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians co-owner Nita Ambani was seen holding

IPL 2019, Eliminator: Delhi pull-off thrilling 2-wicket win over Hyderabad, face CSK in Qualifier 2

Cricket Ki Baat | May 09, 2019, 10:59 PM IST

Delhi Capital now face Chennai Super Kings in the second Qualifier in their bid to make it to the maiden IPL final against Mumbai Indians.

IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Suryakumar stars as Mumbai outshine Chennai at Chepauk to enter finals

Cricket Ki Baat | May 08, 2019, 11:04 PM IST

Suryakumar Yadav's unbeaten 71 powered Mumbai Indians to a 6-wicket win to enter their fifth IPL final, while Chennai get another chance as they face the winner of the Eliminator in the second qualifier.

SRH are like a family, we are prepared to take on Delhi, says Vijay Shankar and Siddarth Kaul

Sports | May 08, 2019, 10:59 PM IST

SRH all-rounder Vijay Shankar and pacer Siddarth Kaul opened up on the franchise being a family. Ahead of their clash against Delhi Capitals in the IPL Eliminator, Shankar and Kaul said that the team are fully prepared and will bring their A-game.

IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians hold upper hand against Chennai Super Kings at Chepauk

Cricket Ki Baat | May 07, 2019, 11:45 PM IST

The first finalist of the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be decided when Chennai Super Kings (CSK) take on Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Tuesday.

IPL 2019: The 'Russell' show guides Kolkata Knight Riders to an emphatic win over Mumbai Indians

Cricket Ki Baat | Apr 29, 2019, 09:03 PM IST

Eden Gardens once again witnessed the 'Russllemania' as the prolific all-rounder smashed a blistering 80 and took two for 25 to guide Kolkata Knight Riders to a 34-run win over Mumbai Indians

IPL 2019, Match 37: Dhawan, Iyer lead show as DC beat KXIP by 5 wickets

Sports | Apr 21, 2019, 03:33 PM IST

Opener Shikhar Dhawan (56) and skipper Shreyas Iyer (58*) led from the front as Delhi Capitals turned their poor home record with a convincing 5-wicket win over Kings XI Punjab at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Saturday.

IPL 2019, SRH vs CSK: Bairstow, Warner fifties help Hyderabad thrash MS Dhoni-less Chennai

Sports | Apr 18, 2019, 11:06 AM IST

Johnny Bairstow and David Warner struck blistering half-centuries to help Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) break their losing streak in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) as they defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by six wickets at the Rajiv Gandhi Int

Anushka Sharma and Virat Kohli Host Dinner For RCB teammates

Entertainment | Apr 17, 2019, 07:01 PM IST

Actress Anushka Sharma along with hubby Virat Kohli host a dinner for RCB teammates. Here are some of the inside pictures from the grand dinner party.

IPL 2019: CSK will look to contain Russell as they gear up to clash with KKR

Sports | Apr 08, 2019, 06:27 PM IST

The MS Dhoni led CSK, which beat Kings XI Punjab on Saturday rather convincingly, will be wary of the Dinesh Karthik's KKR.

IPL 2019: Showman Hardik Pandya stars as Mumbai Indians humble Chennai Super Kings by 37 runs

Sports | Apr 04, 2019, 01:09 PM IST

Hardik Pandya was characteristically quirky as well as breathtaking and the highlight was the helicopter shot in front of its synonym, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, as Mumbai Indians humbled Chennai Super Kings by 37 runs in the IPL.

IPL 2019: Shane Warne slams R Ashwin for 'Mankading' Jos Buttler

Sports | Mar 26, 2019, 05:40 PM IST

Spin wizard Shane Warne has come down heavily on R Ashwin for 'Mankading' Jos Buttler in an IPL match. Warne termed Ashwin's action as "disgraceful" and against the spirit of the game.

IPL 2019: Russell, Rana stun Hyderabad as Kolkata win by 6 wickets

Sports | Mar 26, 2019, 05:40 PM IST

Andre Russell smashed an explosive 49 to spoil David Warner's scintillating IPL comeback as Kolkata Knight Riders pulled off a dramatic six-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

IPL 2019, MI vs DC: Rishabh Pant stars as rejuvenated Delhi smash Mumbai at Wankhede

Sports | Mar 25, 2019, 12:37 PM IST

Mumbai Indians suffered a 37-run loss in their opening game of IPL 2019 as a rechristened Delhi Capitals romped to a victory at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.

Rohit Sharma confirms his batting position for Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2019

Sports | Mar 19, 2019, 11:06 PM IST

Rohit Sharma played in the middle-order mostly in IPL 11 with Evin Lewis and Suryakumar Yadav opening the batting.

No one better than Virat Kohli at the moment in all three formats: Virender Sehwag to IndiaTV

Cricket Ki Baat | Aug 24, 2018, 08:44 PM IST

Even international players, when I talk to them in the IPL, they talk about Kohli and want to know what makes him so successful: Sehwag

Age is just a number, fitness matters, says MS Dhoni after leading CSK to 3rd IPL title triumph

Cricket Ki Baat | May 28, 2018, 07:56 PM IST

After CSK lifted their third IPL title on Sunday, skipper MS Dhoni put "fitness" ahead of any other factor for success. CSK hammered Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets, he opined that its the fitness of players which matters the most.

Read More