1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Technology News
  4. How to delete messages on Facebook Messenger and steps to follow for deleting the messages

How to delete messages on Facebook Messenger and steps to follow for deleting the messages

With the new 'Remove for Everyone' feature on Facebook Messenger, users will have 10 minutes time limit to delete the message. This feature, has been rolled out for Lithuania, Bolivia, Poland, and Colombia, for now.

Written by: Suhail Sattar, New Delhi [ Updated: November 19, 2018 12:44 IST ]
Image Source : PIXABAY/EASTLANDTUNES

Facebook Messenger now lets users delete messages for everyone, like WhatsApp

The social media giant, Facebook has rolled out a new feature for Messenger called the 'Remove for Everyone' by which users will be able to 'unsend' or delete the message, just like WhatsApp. The new feature, for now, has been rolled out for users in Lithuania, Bolivia, Poland, and Colombia. This new feature will be up for both Android and iOS users. This feature has been rolled out after it was tested on Mark Zuckerberg’s personal chats, earlier this year.

Also, read: Realme RMX 1833 with MediaTek Helio P60 SoC spotted online

With the 'Remove for Everyone' feature users will have a time limit of 10 minutes to delete the message. The message is being rolled out in a phased manner and will soon be available for everyone.

In case you are wondering how it works, the following steps will help you use this feature once you receive it.

Steps to follow-

  • To begin with, open the Messenger app on the smartphone.
  • Now go to the chat window, where you would want to delete the message from.
  • Go and select the message, followed by pressing and holding it for some time.
  • Once selected, tap on the 'Remove' option.
  • A prompt message will pop up with an option saying- Delete for Everyone and Delete for you.
  • To delete the message select the option for 'Delete for Everyone' that will help delete the message.

Point to be noted- users will have a window of 10 minutes after sending the message to delete it. Once the window is over, the users will not be able to delete the message for everyone.

Also, read: Facebook Messenger rolls out 'Unsend' feature for iOS and Android

Write a comment

bulandshahr violence