Thursday, July 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Maharashtra
  4. CM Eknath Shinde likely to undertake much-awaited cabinet expansion before monsoon session

CM Eknath Shinde likely to undertake much-awaited cabinet expansion before monsoon session

As the last session of the assembly before the state elections is going to be started on June 27, Chief Minister Eknath Shinde may undertake cabinet expansion with the inclusion of MLAs from all Mahayuti parties.

Edited By: Shubham Bajpai Mumbai Updated on: June 19, 2024 17:54 IST
Eknath Shinde may undertake cabinet expansion
Image Source : FILE Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde

Maharashtra may witness cabinet expansion ahead of the Monsoon session in assembly with the inclusion of three MLAs as ministers from each of the Mahayuti parties. 

The monsoon session will start on June 27 and Chief Minister Eknath Shinde can undertake the much-anticipated expansion two-three days before that. Sources suggest that Mahayuti is eyeing to bring Marathas and OBCs to its side as a master plan.

Last session of the government

Notably, this is going to be the last session of the government as the state is poised to undergo assembly elections in October. Hence, importance will be given to all three parties in the cabinet expansion. Earlier on June 18, NCP's Maharashtra unit president Sunil Tatkare said there is a possibility of an expansion of the state cabinet led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde.

Currently, there are 29 ministers in the Maharashtra government. Out of these Shiv Sena and BJP have 10 ministers each while 9 ministers are from Ajit Pawar’s NCP. There are three names of potential MLAs from each Mahayut party, which are in discussion for the cabinet.

Potential candidates for cabinet expansion

Nationalist Congress Party Ajit Pawar faction (NCP)

1. Makarand Aba Patil - Maratha Satara Western Maharashtra

2. Vikram Kale - Maratha Marathwada MLC

3. Sangram Jagtap - Maratha North Maharashtra

Shiv Sena Shinde faction (Shiv Sena)

1. Bharat Gogavale - Maratha Konkan

2. Sanjay Shirsat - Dalit Marathwada

3. Pratap Sarnaik - Maratha Konkan

Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP)

1. Devyani Farande - OBC North Maharashtra

2. Madhuri Misal - Maratha West Maharashtra

3. Sanjay Kute - OBC Vidarbha

Meanwhile, the BJP has started to prepare for the upcoming assembly elections. The top brass has directed Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis to work for the party while being in the government. Therefore Fadnavis will maintain coordination between the government and the organization

ALSO READ | Sharad Pawar takes swipe at PM Modi over MVA victory in LS polls: 'Wherever he held rally, we won'


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Maharashtra