Thursday, July 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Maharashtra
  4. Sharad Pawar takes swipe at PM Modi over MVA victory in LS polls: 'Wherever he held rally, we won'

Sharad Pawar takes swipe at PM Modi over MVA victory in LS polls: 'Wherever he held rally, we won'

Uddhav Thackeray, who was also present at the press conference, said that the MVA's victory in the Lok Sabha polls is just a beginning and not the end.

Edited By: Ashesh Mallick @asheshmallick07 Mumbai Published on: June 15, 2024 16:26 IST
Sharad Pawar, PM Modi, Uddhav Thackeray, Maharashtra
Image Source : PTI NCP (Sharad) Chief Sharad Pawar

Maharashtra news: NCP-SCP chief Sharad Pawar on Saturday (June 15) “thanked” Prime Minister Narendra Modi stating that he made the political atmosphere “conducive” for the Maha Vikas Aghadi and the Opposition alliance won in Maharashtra “wherever the Prime Minister held a roadshow and rally”. Pawar’s remarks came at a joint press conference with Shiv Sena UBT chief Uddhav Thackeray, as the state heads into Assembly elections in the next few months. Notably, the MVA won 30 seats while the NDA only managed to win 17 seats out of 48 in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha Elections in the state.

“Wherever the Prime Minister's roadshow and rally took place, we won. We thank PM Narendra Modi for making the political atmosphere conducive for the MVA,” Sharad Pawar said in the press conference.

MVA's Lok Sabha poll victory is beginning, not end, says Uddhav

Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray said that the victory of the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in the Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra is the beginning and not the end, and expressed confidence that the opposition alliance will win the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

"BJP itself gave the slogan of 400. What happened to the narrative of good days, what happened to Modi's guarantee...Devendra Fadnavis told us that our government is like the three legs of a rickshaw, the condition of the BJP government at the centre is also the same,” he said.

"Lok Sabha poll victory for Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) is not the end, it is the beginning," the former chief minister added.

Congress leader Chavan said after the Lok Sabha poll results, change of government was imminent in Maharashtra.

Lok Sabha Election Results

In the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections, the Congress won 13 seats, a quantum jump from the solitary seat it won in the state in 2019, while the Shiv Sena (UBT) bagged nine and the NCP (SP) 8.

In the seat-sharing deal for the general elections, the Uddhav Thackeray-led party had got the largest share of seats among the three parties. Of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats, the Sena (UBT) contested 21 seats, followed by Congress at 17 and NCP (SP) at 10.

In comparison, the ruling Mahayuti could bag just 17 seats, with the BJP's seat tally coming drastically down to nine from the 23 (it won in 2019). The Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena won 7, while the Ajit Pawar-led NCP could get just 1 seat.

(With inputs from agencies)

ALSO READ | Will Uddhav Thackeray be Maharashtra CM if MVA wins Assembly Elections? Sanjay Raut responds


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Maharashtra